VU Special Collections - How to access and use: Collections in the community

Emily Floyd Exhibition: 'The Dawn' (2014)

From 21st November 2014 to 1st March 2015, items from the Crow Collection were on display at NGV: Australia as part of the Emily Floyd Exhibition: 'The Dawn'. A book of essays was published by the NGV to co-incide with the exhibition. This book includes photographs of the Exhbition showing the works inspired by the Ruth & Maurie Crow Collection.

The Dawn - Emily FloydEdit/Delete

Call Number: CROW COLL. 709.2 FLO
ISBN: 9780724103959
Publication Date: 2014
 
 

City of Moreland Mural (2013)

In 2013 artist Ben Sheppard was commissioned by the City of Moreland Council to create a public mural of local residents who had made significant contributions to their community. An image of Ruth Crow is included in the this mural which was at the entrance to Tripovich Street in Sparta Place in Brunswick.

Women in the West (2017)

The Women in the West exhibition, by Her Place: Women's Museum Australia. Ruth Crow was one of the eight women profiled in the exhibition and material displayed from the 'Ruth & Maurie Crow Collection'.

VU material on display in exhibition

 

Women in the West exhibition space

Promoting collection use through researcher stories (2017)

This poster was created by Special Collections libraries for a library industry event.

Poster promoting researcher stories located on Researcher tab

100 Cuppas (2016)

The VU Library Ruth & Maurie Crow collection was part of the 100 Cuppas Ruth Crow celebration and the North Melbourne Spring Fling festival which took place on 16 October 2016.  Several hundred people visited the displays and associated events and enjoyed a cup of Ruth Crow tea brewed especially for the occasion. 

The exhibition featured artefacts from the Crow collection including the Plan for Melbourne, town planning documents with a particular focus on North Melbourne and the Western suburbs and items about community groups that Ruth Crow was involved in. Two hand-knitted toys from a collection of toys which Ruth often took to community meetings to keep children entertained and a large banner with a map of North Melbourne which Ruth and Maurie used to promote community discussion were also on display.

(by Linda Forbes, VU Library)

 

Ruth Crow tea

 

100 Cuppas poster    

 

A set of postcards featuring photos, maps, and quotes from the Crow collection were created by artist Jen Rae.