Relevant journals and databases available for this unit.

• Accessing peer-reviewed journal articles
• What is peer review? 
• Grey literature and other information sources
• Video databases

• Alexander Street Counseling - the library subscribes to several streaming video databases where you can find real-life examples and interviews of responses to health issues. Here is an example of a video collection available through the Alexander Street Counseling database - counseling & therapy.
• Kanopy - streaming video database where you can find a wide variety of videos. Here are 2 examples - Everyday Health and Depression and Suicide

Rather than searching ALL the library resources you can choose to search in ONE of the databases. Remember to limit your search results to peer-reviewed (or refereed) articles.

• Academic Search Premier (multidisciplinary database)
• Medline
• Scopus
• SportDiscus  
• PsycInfo  
• ScienceDirect 
• CINAHL  (Health Studies)
• Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
• BioMed Central 
• Australian Public Affairs (APA)  (Australian Social Sciences)
• Australian Public Affairs Information Service- Health (APAIS – Health)
• Health Collection
• Humanities & Social  Sciences Collection (Australian Social Sciences)
• Families and Society Online

When an article is published in a peer-reviewed or refereed journal, it indicates that that article has been through a formal review process. It has been read by experts in the subject field before being accepted for publication. This ensures the information in the article is well-researched, and contributes to the knowledge of the subject area.

We all know the library is the perfect place for finding books - But it’s also a great resource for periodicals. So, what is a periodical anyway? Well, a periodical is any publication released on a regular schedule. Like magazines and newspapers. But those two aren’t all. Scholarly journals are a special type of periodical meant for academic research. Normal periodicals are published by corporations, with general information meant for academic research. Normal periodicals are published by corporations, with general information meant for a wide audience. While scholarly journals are published by academic institutions, they’re subject-specific, with articles focusing on narrow, precise topics. They’re edited and approved by a board of specialists – with references for each article. But more importantly, scholarly journals have all gone through a process known as peer review. That means research has been submitted through a double blind process, with academics on both ends operation anonymously. And before publication, every article is put through a rigorous approval system. All that matters is the research, and every step is taken to guarantee its quality. That way, when it reaches you, it’s filled with information you can trust. So, when doing your research, make the right choice with a source you can count on.

View this video

 For example:

• Theses
• Conference Papers/Conference Proceedings
• Government Reports – australia.gov.au
• NGO’s
• Research Reports & Policy - APO
• Pamphlets​
• The Conversation - The Conversation contains news and views from academic and research communities.