Harvard Referencing: Journal articles

Related links within this guide

Harvard Referencing: journal articles

Basic format to reference journal articles

The basics of a Reference List entry for a journal article:

  • Author or authors. The surname is followed by first initials.
  • Year of publication of the article.
  • Article title (in single inverted commas).
  • Journal title (in italics).
  • Volume of journal.
  • Issue number of journal.
  • Page range of article.

Example:
Cant, RP 2010, 'Investing in patients' nutrition: nutrition risk screening in hospital', Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, vol. 28, no. 2, pp. 81-87.

Referencing journal articles: Examples

Material Type In-Text Example Reference List Examples

Direct quote


Journal Article: 
Print or Online


Indirect quote

 

According to Cant (2010, p. 82), 'undernutrition in hospital patients is a condition that requires serious examination'.

OR

Cant (2010) suggests that there is a need for more research into the nutritional screening of patients.

Cant, RP 2010, 'Investing in patients' nutrition: nutrition risk screening in hospital', Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, vol. 28, no. 2, pp. 81-87.

An article obtained from a Database, from E-reserve or from VU Collaborate is referenced in the same way as a print article.

Journal Article with two authors (Allen & Black 1995)
OR
Allen and Black (1995) have found...

Allen, MC & Black, R 1995, 'The future of instructional designers in Australia', Distance Education, vol. 15, no. 2, pp. 16-25.

Journal Article with three authors (Allen, Zuboff & Black 1994)
OR
Allen, Zuboff and Black (1994) have found...

Allen, MC, Zuboff, T & Black, R 1994, 'Instructional designers in Australia: the state of play', Distance Education, vol. 16, no. 1, pp. 26-34.

Journal Article with more than three authors

(Allen et al. 1993)
OR

Allen et al. (1993) have found...

Show only the name of the first author or body, followed by et al.

Allen, MC, Grant, BA, Zuboff, T & Black, R 1993, 'Instructional designers in Australia: a brief history', Distance Education, vol. 14, no. 3, pp. 15-17.

Provide the names of all authors in the reference list.

 

Video Transcript

2017 Harvard Journal article reference – video transcript

Slide 1 This video will demonstrate how to reference a journal article  using Victoria University’s Harvard style.

Slide 2 Image on screen: In text- example. Open Bracket first author’s surname name, second author’s surname ampersand third authors surname year close bracket. Reference list example. Explanation: In Harvard Style you must acknowledge your sources of information in the text of your writing and in a reference list at the end. Brief details of your sources are provided in the text of your writing, full details are listed in the reference list. References in your reference list are listed in alphabetical order by the author’s last name.

Slide 3 Image on screen: Paragraph of text. Explanation: When presenting ideas or information from a source, include the authors’ surname and date of publication in brackets within the text of your writing. Where you refer to the author’s name in the body of the text, include the date of publication in brackets. When quoting directly from the source include the page number and place quotation marks around the quote.

Slide 4 Text on screen: Journal article details. Print and from electronic database. Image on screen: Database search page

Slide 5 Text on screen: Step 1 Author. Image on screen: Journal article citation and abstract from database page. Author’s name highlighted and added to Step 1 text box. First author’s surname, initial, second authors surname and initial ampersand third authors surname and initials. Explanation: When creating a reference for a journal article to  include in a reference list the first element is the author’s name.  Include each authors’ surname, followed by their initials.

Slide 6 Text on screen: Step 2 date of publication. Journal article citation and abstract from database page. Date of publication highlighted, publication year added to Step 2 text box.

Slide 7 Text on screen: Step 3 Article title. Journal article citation and abstract from database page. Article title in single quotation marks highlighted and added to Step 3 text box

Slide 8 Text on screen: Step 4 journal title. Journal article citation and abstract from database page. Journal title highlighted and added to Step 4 text box

Slide 9 Text on screen: Step 5 Volume and issue number. Journal article citation and abstract from database page Volume & issue number highlighted and added to Step 5 text box. Vol.(abbreviation) number, no. (abbreviation) number,

Slide 10 Text on screen: Step 6 page numbers. Journal article citation and abstract from database page. Page numbers highlighted and added to Step 6. pp. (abbreviation) page number.

Slide 11 Text on screen: Elements of a reference. Author’s name, date, Article title, Journal title (in italics), volume, issue number, page numbers. Reference example: Grohe, B, Schroeder, J & Davis, SRB 2013, ‘Using online resources to improve writing  skills and attitudes about writing and plagiarism of criminal justice students’,  Journal on Excellence in College Teaching, vol. 24, no. 1, pp. 23-45.

Slide 12 More detailed information on Harvard referencing is available on the VU Harvard Libguide (http://libraryguides.vu.edu.au/harvard) or go to contacts and help on the Library website to contact Library staff.

(video ends)