Permanent links from Library Resources: Law Databases

STAFF GUIDE

Permanent Links in CCH IntelliConnect

CCH IntelliConnect contains Australian content with key information for Accounting, Tax, Employment, Human Resources, Court practice, Family law, Corporations Law, Contract Law, Intellectual property, Torts, Trade practices and Conveyancing.

  • Locate the title and section you wish to connect to [1], and click the Link Builder icon [2].

  • Click 'Copy selected URLs to Windows clipboard' in the Link Builder pop-up.

  • If your browser cannot automatically access the clipboard, you will see the following message.  Use Ctrl+C to copy the link address. NOTE: The entry heading is also auto-selected; do not include this in the URL.

  • Paste the URL into the Readings module in your VU Collaborate Space.

Permanent links in Hein Online

Hein Online has an extensive collection of full-text Australian and overseas law journals. Primary materials from the US and UK including the English Reports and US Code. A range of subject based collections covering topics such as women and the law, religion and the law, international law, constitutional law and legal history.

  • Search or browse Hein Online to find your chosen article.
  • Click on the article title to view the detailed record for the article.

Screenshot of the Hein Online results page highlighting the hyperlinked article title that takes the viewer to the detailed article view.

  • Click on the 'Permanent link to this page' ("chain link") icon just above the article view to get the permanent link. Note: This link will require redirecting via OpenAthens.

Screenshot of the detailed article view in Hein Online, highlighting the 'Permanent link to this page' icon, which looks like a chain link.

  • Select and copy (Ctrl-C) the link from the pop-up to use in the OpenAthens Link Generator.

Screenshot detail from Hein Online showing the 'Permanent link to this page pop-up with the permanent link highlighted for copying.

  • Open the VU OpenAthens link generator (https://go.openathens.net/generate/vu.edu.au/71775300), ensure that Victoria University is selected (1), paste in the URL (2) and click 'Copy' (3). (Note that the URL disappears and the OpenAthens link is automatically generated).

Screenshot of the OpenAthens interface showing a Hein Online link being redirected.

  • Paste the OpenAthens link into your Readings module as needed.

Permanent links in ICLR Online

ICLR Online is the source for UK Law Reports & Case Law Search. The Law Reports are the official series of Reports cited in the High Court, the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court dating back to 1865.

  • Locate the case
  • Click on the grey arrow (next to the PDF and Print icons) toward the top-right of the page

  • Click on 'Copy Link'

  • You will get a confirmation that the link has been copied.
    • NOTE: This link will need to be amended before pasting into the OpenAthens Link Generator. This can easily be done in Notepad or Word.
  • Link from ICLR:

https://www-iclr-co-uk.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/document/2011208034/casereport_c287c815-66b4-455b-8b48-c8610a895491/html#

  • Remove the beginning of the URL, everything from 'https' to '.net' (make sure to leave the slash at /document ):

https://www-iclr-co-uk.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/document/2011208034/casereport_c287c815-66b4-455b-8b48-c8610a895491/html#

  • Replace with: https://www.iclr.co.uk

https://www.iclr.co.uk/document/2011208034/casereport_c287c815-66b4-455b-8b48-c8610a895491/html#

  • The amended link can now be pasted into the OpenAthens Link Generator

Screenshot of OpenAthens interface showing an ICLR URL being redirected.

  • Paste the OpenAthens link into your Readings module as needed.

Permanent links in Lexis Advance

Lexis Advance provides an extensive collection of Australian primary and secondary legal sources including law reports, law journals, commentaries, a legal encyclopaedia and dictionary. Significant titles include: CaseBase, Halsbury’s Laws of Australia, Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, Victorian Reports, Australian Law Reports.

  • Locate the document you wish to link to, click on the 'Actions' drop-down menu next to the Document title (1), and click 'Link to this page' (2)

Screenshot of Lexis Advance database showing how to click Actions and 'Link to this page'.

  • Copy (Ctrl-C) this link. NOTE: It is ready to use as it is.

Screenshot from Lexis Advance showing pop-up with permanent link to copy.

  • The link for the above example looks like this: 

https://advance.lexis.com/api/permalink/7ff20b85-75f9-451a-867a-f8c33f0bac11/?context=1201008&federationidp=ZTD3PF54707

  • Paste this link into your Readings module as needed.

Permanent links in TimeBase LawOne

TimeBase LawOne provides access to full text legislation from all seven Australian jurisdictions.

  • Search or browse to your required content, and copy and paste the URL from the address bar
    • NOTE: this URL will need to be amended to ensure both on and off campus access. Please see below.

  • Add the following proxy prefix before the URL: http://wallaby.vu.edu.au:2048/login?url=
  • In the example given above, the correct URL would be: http://wallaby.vu.edu.au:2048/login?url=https://www-lawone-com-au.wallaby.vu.edu.au:4433/legislation/content/cth0000732_s113H

Permanent Links in Westlaw AU

Westlaw AU has an extensive collection of Australian primary and secondary legal sources including law reports, law journals, commentaries, and a legal encyclopaedia.

  • Locate the document you wish to link to.
  • Click on the blue 'Link Builder' icon to the far right of the case title.

  • Copy and paste the link from the pop-up, and paste this link into the OpenAthens Link Generator.

Screenshot of WestLaw AU showing the Link Builder pop-up.

  • Open the VU OpenAthens link generator (https://go.openathens.net/generate/vu.edu.au/71775300), ensure that Victoria University is selected (1), paste in the URL (2) and click 'Copy' (3). (Note that the URL disappears and the OpenAthens link is automatically generated).

Screenshot of OpenAthens showing a WestLaw AU URL being redirected.

  • Paste this OpenAthens link into your Readings module as needed.

Permanent Links in WestLaw Next databases

For advice regarding permanent linking in WestLaw Next databases, please contact the Law Library.