Master of Sport and Exercise Science : Databases & journals

A guide for students studying the Master of Sport & Exercise Science

What is Peer Review?

When an article is published in a peer-reviewed or refereed journal, it indicates that that article has been through a formal review process. It has been read by experts in the subject field before being accepted for publication. This ensures the information in the article is well-researched and contributes to the knowledge of the subject area.

SAGE Research Methods database

Having trouble finding information about different qualitative and quantitative methodologies? 

SAGE Research Methods database is the answer! From first-year students up to PhD level and beyond SAGE Research Methods explains the different research methodologies and provides articles and book chapters about their implementation. Find Sage Research Methods under 'S' on the Library databases page or click here: SAGE Research Methods.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. It can be a good starting point to gain an understanding of the breadth of research published on your topic.

Many VU library databases can also be searched through Google Scholar. Fulltext journal articles and research papers can be retrieved by clicking on the "Find Fulltext@VU Library" link when it appears to the right of your search results.  This will happen automatically while on-campus but may need to be set up as "Library Links" under Scholar Settings to work from off-site.

Video databases

Library journals and databases

Victoria University library subscribes to a number of online databases, which collectively cover a huge range of disciplines and subjects.

Journal articles found through the VU library can be viewed, downloaded and printed to assist you with your assessments. The databases can be searched collectively through Library Search (external link) or you can search them individually on Library's Databases A to Z page. See a list of relevant Sport and Exercise Science databases on this page.

Use library databases to find peer-reviewed, high-quality articles and research papers.

Once you have decided on which database(s) to use

  • enter key terms to search
  • use advanced search options where possible
  • separate each key term or concept into a new search box (if available)
  • limit and refine your results using the tools available (refinement tools will differ for each database). 

Follow this link to access online videos on accessing the Library Search and Library Databases. 

Relevant Sport & Exercise Science databases

Citation databases

Grey literature and other information sources

 For example: