Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- Bachelor of Social Work
- Books & e-books
eBooks
The library offers VU students and staff access to electronic books (eBooks). These e-books can be accessed through the library website for online reading, and some are also available for download for offline reading for a specific duration.
Different companies provide these e-books, each with varying restrictions on downloading and printing. More information about accessing e-books, help guides, and downloading can be found on the library website and in the provided videos.
Please note that there are limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook, as well as on printing and copying. If you encounter a message indicating that the eBook is already in use, you can try accessing it at a later time.
For additional assistance in finding and using eBooks, you can consult our eBooks Guide on the library website.
Use reference materials to:
Dictionary of Social Work by
"This updated and revised version of a very popular and well received book provides a key quick reference work for students, and new and experienced practitioners. The succinct résumés of current issues and their implications for practice and policy help readers to get to grips with the wide range of key concepts and terms used in social work, social care, law and health services. This book is highly recommended for its wide-ranging set of summaries which are valuable in first encounters with, or updating of, knowledge in social work." Professor Brian Littlechild, Associate Head of School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, University of Hertfordshire "This Dictionary of Social Work provides a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the terminology used in social work. The evidence based entries are cross-referenced and informed by up to date legislation. Very detailed and useful contextual information are included and the reader is directed to other sources of information. This dictionary is a must read for all social work students, practitioners and academics and should be included on all social work reading lists." Dr Frank Keating, Senior Lecturer In Health and Social Care, Royal Holloway University of London "I consider this to be an invaluable handbook of social work knowledge which is highly accessible, informative and concise. Many will be surprised by the content which exceeds expectation as it goes much further than a standard dictionary, offering understanding and initial analysis of a range of difficult concepts. This is a 'must have' reference text which social work students will carry with them throughout their degree studies. An essential instrument for navigating through the vast range of subject matter confronting social work students. One of few of its type, its features will ensure it remains a highly attractive acquisition." Martin Sheedy, Senior Lecturer, Centre for Social Work, Liverpool John Moores University With over 1500 entries, this popular dictionary provides concise and up to date explanations of the theories, approaches and terminology that define front-line social work and social care. These entries explain, in jargon-free language, how key concepts can be used to improve practice. Clear explanations outline significant developments such as Every Child Matters and the personalization of adult services. Entries are helpfully cross referenced and are evidence based. They reflect professional values and are written by specialists in the field, with a specific focus on the most recent legislation and policy guidance from government. This book is a key reference for students in further and higher education who are preparing for careers in social work, community care, residential care, child care, the probation service, counselling, and psychiatric nursing.
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care
Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics such as health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available.
Historical dictionary of the welfare state by
This third edition of Historical Dictionary of the Welfare State covers the history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 hundred cross-referenced entries that focus on the definitions and concepts that are the most relevant, long lasting, and important concepts.
