School of Business Library Newsletter: November 2019

Welcome

Welcome to the Victoria University School of Business Library News. This newsletter aims to keep you up to date with the latest Library news in your area: business database news, business database trials, new resources, library initiatives, support services the library offers to assist you carry out your research, and teaching and learning.

Contact Lou Connell, School of Business and VU College Librarian on 9919 4423 or John Tripotseris, Business Librarian on 9919 1233 to arrange Information Literacy sessions for your students, and to discuss information options for your units. We are working in the design and development teams, with our Sydney colleagues, with International, Research and any areas that support student and staff access to information.

Linkedin Learning

Lynda.com, one of our streaming video database has changed to
Linkedin Learning.

As a staff member, your students may ask you how to access Linkedin Learning. If a student doesn’t have an activation email, they just go to the databases page and go to Linkedin learning and login with the usual student ID a pw.

Activating your account

As a Lynda.com user, you can activate your LinkedIn Learning account in many ways:

  • via a link provided in an activation email from Victoria University/LinkedIn Learning
  • within VU Collaborate at the point of clicking on your course resources
  • within the staff portal (MyVU Portal)
  • via the library’s A-Z Databases(external link): LinkedIn Learning

If you did not receive an activation email or you are a new user, you can create an account by accessing LinkedIn Learning:

Or you can just go to the database!

Eikon with Datastream

Eikon with Datastream​

 

Thomson Reuters Datastream and Eikon are no longer available as separate stand-alone applications. Datastream's Office tools content and it’s charting capabilities are now integrated and accessible through Eikon Excel Add-In. The Eikon Excel Add-In function will enable you to to down load mass amount of data from Datastream into Excel. Microsoft Office integration will also enable you to create financial models, presentations and documents. Data and charts can be linked within Excel, PowerPoint or Word 

The EIKON with Datastream database is located at the City Flinders Campus Library on PC SCF1520-66. This PC is only available to Eikon with Datastream users and not available to students/staff for regular PC bookings. It is advisable you book the PC  http://mypc.library.vu.edu.au/cire/login.aspx

Refinitiv Eikon Training

Refinitive, offers many training videos and webcast courses to assist you navigate through Eikon. 
Click here to visit the
Training website
 

 

Block Design Team


It has been a great experience for John and I to be working on the wonderful Connected Learning design teams, firstly with Kell, Sim, Hazol, Dana and Jiang, and now with Mark, Olga and Max!
As most of you will know, we have looked at the information literacy aspects of the design as well as resourcing the Block units. We have learnt a lot about your units and have a great deal of respect for the work you do. Connected Learning are  absolutely amazing! A special call out to our copyright officer Ingrid, who has to check many tricky situations, and also to Igor for his advice & help with videos.

Here are some photos including our Team's end of year break up last year. All the best for 2020 Regards, Lou and John

SAGE Business Cases

The SAGE Business Cases database with teacher notes has been acquired as an effective way to teach students real world situations with problem based learning.
Sage Business Cases has over 3,000 authoritative case studies from over 100 countries.Includes subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare, management, leadership and social enterprise.
 
Contact Lou.Connell@vu.edu.au for the pw to the teacher notes

ORBIS BvD New Interface

 

ORBIS BvD is a great Library database to look up company information. 

The new interface makes it easier to use, with options to find various facets of company information. There are millions of companies worldwide, both private and publicly listed.

  • Search by hundreds of criteria
  • Do a detailed financial analysis on a company
  • Refer to original filings using our library of scanned images
  • Illustrate financials with our easy-to create graphs
  • Get a quick view of a company’s financial strength - we have financial models from a range of expert partners
  • Watch companies using our flexible alert systems
  • Look at a company’s corporate structure in a tree diagram and find all companies with the same parent
  • Research beneficial ownership and use in client on-boarding/compliance projects - you can even edit to be compatible with your definition of beneficial ownership
  • Create and analyse peer groups
  • Access information on patents associated to companies
  • Enrich your knowledge and internal data on companies - include financial data appropriate for credit analysis
  • Customise your own reports
  • The company reports are in a detailed standardised format

READINGS in your unit space

 

 

Is your readings list going to expire at the end of December?

You can roll over your readings by following this GUIDE

The Library has a the new Library Guide Readings on VU Collaborate which involves 4 steps on setting up your unit with Readings:

VU ONLINE

Thanks to VU Online, particularly Chris Walsh and his team Jason Naumovski and Ana Yap for being so easy to work with on the Masters project.

The VU Library has so many resources in various formats that are ideal for the online pedagogy and something to keep in mind, as well as Open Education Resources.

The team and SMEs have been great, and i wish the Masters of Business Administration all the success in the world.

What are OERs

Ask a Librarian

Ask a librarian

During semester, library chat is open 9am - 8pm Monday to Thursday, 9am - 5pm Friday, and 11am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday.

Outside of semester, chat is open 9am - 5pm Monday to Friday only.

Chat is not available on public holidays or University closures.

Chat now(external link)