AHE1101 Structural Kinesiology: Databases & journals

Different access to peer-reviewed journal articles

Rather than searching ALL the library resources, you can choose to search in ONE of the databases. Remember to limit your search results to peer-reviewed (or refereed) articles.

SRMO database

Having trouble finding information about different qualitative and quantitative methodologies? Sage Research Methods Online: SRMO is the answer! From first-year students up to PhD level and beyond SRMO explains the different research methodologies and provides articles and book chapters about their implementation. Find SRMO under 'S' on the Library databases page or click here: SRMO.

How to Read a Journal Article

A video developed by the Centre for Teaching and Learning at Southern Cross University on how to read a journal article. 

Transcript for how to find a peer-reviewed journal article on SPORTDiscus database

How to find a journal article on a library database (SportDiscus). In this presentation you will see how to find a journal article on a library database.To access databases, click on “Databases A-Z”. You can search the databases by name or browse alphabetically or by subject. Click on letter “S” to select SportDiscus database. Connect to the database by clicking on “SPORTDiscus with fulltext”. Enter your search terms. Select options available from the drop down menu. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles and full text as well as choose articles published in the last few years. Link to the full text of the article. For further information, please contact us through ‘Ask a Librarian’ service or talk to a rover or library staff member if on campus. 

What is a Scholarly or Academic Journal and how to check for peer reviewed articles?

Watch the following video to learn what is a scholarly or academic journal and what is a journal database. In addition, the video explains the peer review process and how to check if the journal is peer-reviewed or not.

Newspapers & TV News

Current (and sometimes local) information but not peer reviewed

  • ANZ NEWSSTREAM ANZ Newsstand contains the articles from Australian and New Zealand national and regional newspapers. The coverage begins in 1996. 
  • Factiva- provides access to more than 14,000 sources (such as newspapers, journals, magazines, news and radio transcripts, etc) from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires. Australian publications include The Age, The Herald Sun, Sydney Morning Herald, West Australian, The Mercury, Business Review Weekly, Bulletin, Australian Financial Review and The Adelaide Advertiser.
  • The Conversation The Conversation contains news and views from academic and research communities.

Video databases

  • Alexander Street Counseling - the library subscribes to several streaming video databases where you can find real-life examples and interviews of responses to health issues. Here is an example of a video collection available through the Alexander Street Counseling database - counseling & therapy.
  • Kanopy - streaming video database where you can find health and fitness related videos . Here is an example - everyday health

Transcript for how to find a peer-reviewed journal article on library search

In this presentation you will see how to find a journal article on library’s search.You can search for journal articles on the library’s homepage by typing in the article title, the author or simply by entering keywords.Type in your key words. Choose ‘journal articles’ button and search.You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles, full text, as well as choose articles published in the last few years and add more keywords.To access journal article, click on “PDF full text” link or “check for full text” link. This checks all the library databases. If the article is not available, there is an option to request the article. For further information, please contact us through ‘Ask a Librarian’ service or talk to a rover or library staff member if on campus.

Transcript for Scholarly or Academic Journal and Databases

This video will explain what a scholarly or academic journal is and what is a journal database.

In simple terms, a scholarly journal also referred to as an academic journal or peer-reviewed or refereed journal, is a collection of articles that are written by academics or experts in their field.

Scholarly journals differ from popular magazines (Image) or trade publications (Image) or newspapers (Image) as the articles published in these are meant for the general audience, usually written by journalists and most importantly, the articles in these publications do not go through the peer review process.

On the other hand, scholarly journals are subject specific, written by experts/researchers in the field and often report on original research or experimentation. Use specialized language and have an extensive reference list at the end. Finally, these articles go through the peer review process to ensure the quality and relevance of the article!

Now you must be thinking what Peer review is and why is it such a big deal! Let me explain. Peer review is an editorial process whereby a researcher writes an article and submits it to the journal’s editor, who then sends the article to one or more reviewers. These reviewers are experts or researchers in the same field who are considered as authors peers! These impartial reviewers precisely evaluate the quality and credibility of the article, ensuring the information in the article is accurate, reliable and well researched. The peer reviewers may reject the article or send it back to the authors for revision before it gets published.

The library subscribes to print copies of journals and puts them onto the library shelves. However, the Library’s preferable method for purchasing and subscribing to journals is through online journal databases.

So, to get an idea of what a database is: think of Apple iTunes, which is a database of songs you buy! Likewise, a journal database is a collection of online or e-journals, packaged together by topic or discipline. Some are subject-specific databases and some are multi-disciplinary databases and contains the full text of the article, however, some may/only contain abstract or summary of the article.

Journal databases can be searched collectively through Library Search. You can also search them individually, browse the databases alphabetically or browse by subject.

Many databases offer ways of limiting your search results to peer-reviewed articles. Look for options/refinements or limiters such as Peer reviewed, Academic journals or Scholarly journals

Alternatively, the Ulrichsweb database can be used to check if the journal is peer-reviewed or not!

For further information refer to the relevant guide or contact us online.