A-Z Databases
The Victoria University library subscribes to a number of online databases, which collectively cover a huge range of disciplines and subjects.
Articles found through the VU library can viewed, downloaded and printed to assist you with your work.
The databases can be searched collectively through Library Search (external link) or you can search them individually.
Loading...
Appropriate Use
General Guidelines (Applicable to all electronic services):
Use of this service including the viewing, printing and downloading of individual articles is permitted for the purposes of private study, teaching and research. This does not include the systematic downloading, copying or printing of significant portions of the licensed content (for example: entire issues of individual journals). Undertaking this type of activity constitutes a serious breach of both copyright and licence agreements and may result in legal action or termination of the University's access to this product. Use of this service for commercial gain is strictly prohibited.
Specific Terms:
The conditions described above are intended as general guidelines. Specific licence conditions may be outlined on the individual database or journal web site under a heading such as "Terms and Conditions", "Terms of Use", "Licence Agreement" or something similar. It is important that you read and observe these terms and conditions.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.Trial
Cabells Predatory Reports This link opens in a new window
New
A searchable, curated blacklist of over 16,000 predatory journals in all disciplines. Journals are examined against 60+ behavioural indicators using transparent and objective criteria.
EMIS University: The World This link opens in a new window
New
Designed especially for researchers and students at academic institutions, EMIS University is a dynamic electronic resource which gathers analysis, data and news on companies, industries and countries in the world’s 125+ emerging markets. It offers a collation of time-sensitive, hard-to-get, relevant news, research and data, peer comparisons and analytical tools. All content is licensed from the cream of the world's macroeconomic experts, the most renowned industry research firms, and the most authoritative news providers. This is combined with EMIS’s own company and M&A research to offer a multi-faceted view of each emerging market.
Gale Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
New
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Collections are chosen based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window
New
Database provide resources to development skills in critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Gale Interactive Chemistry This link opens in a new window
New
Introduces interactive 3-D models to college-level course study, creating an immersive experience meant to enhance traditional text-based instruction. Chemistry students can explore elements, reactions, crystals, molecules, and compounds. Users can explore 3-D models by zooming in, rotating, and dissecting them. A robust help section, particularly useful in the case of the modeling software, rounds out this collection of products, suitable for academic libraries.
Gale Interactive Science This link opens in a new window
New
Comprehensive view of the most-studied science subjects. Authoritative, high-quality digital content is paired with interactive 3D models with functionality including zooming in, rotating, or pulling them apart. A visual online tool that empowers instructors to teach science topics through an easy-to-use, intuitive interface.
Gale Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
New
Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
Gale Psychology This link opens in a new window
New
Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Gale Science This link opens in a new window
New
Access to daily updated information on the latest developments across a range of scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
LWW Health Library: Speech, Language & Hearing Collection This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): OVID Databases;Lippincott Titles
LWW Health Library for Speech, Language and Hearing offers a core collection of content for speech pathologist and audiologists in a user-friendly online portal. Users can quickly access gold-standard content and save chapters in PDF format for offline reading. Extensive video and Q&A further support learning needs and test prep. Package of 14 core books ideal for the SLH student and practitioner, plus over 235 video clips that cover fluency, audiology, voice, neuroscience, and anatomy and physiology.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
OverDrive is the leading digital reading platform for libraries and schools worldwide. OverDrive dedicated to creating “a world enlightened by reading” by delivering the industry’s largest catalog of ebooks, audiobooks and other digital media to a growing network of 88,000 libraries and schools in 109 countries.
Ask the Library
Library Chat
Check Library hours calendar for LibChat availability