A-Z Databases
The Victoria University library subscribes to a number of online databases, which collectively cover a huge range of disciplines and subjects.
Articles found through the VU library can viewed, downloaded and printed to assist you with your work.
The databases can be searched collectively through Library Search (external link) or you can search them individually.
Loading...
Appropriate Use
General Guidelines (Applicable to all electronic services):
Use of this service including the viewing, printing and downloading of individual articles is permitted for the purposes of private study, teaching and research. This does not include the systematic downloading, copying or printing of significant portions of the licensed content (for example: entire issues of individual journals). Undertaking this type of activity constitutes a serious breach of both copyright and licence agreements and may result in legal action or termination of the University's access to this product. Use of this service for commercial gain is strictly prohibited.
Specific Terms:
The conditions described above are intended as general guidelines. Specific licence conditions may be outlined on the individual database or journal web site under a heading such as "Terms and Conditions", "Terms of Use", "Licence Agreement" or something similar. It is important that you read and observe these terms and conditions.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
EMIS University: The World This link opens in a new window
New
Designed especially for researchers and students at academic institutions, EMIS University is a dynamic electronic resource which gathers analysis, data and news on companies, industries and countries in the world’s 125+ emerging markets. It offers a collation of time-sensitive, hard-to-get, relevant news, research and data, peer comparisons and analytical tools. All content is licensed from the cream of the world's macroeconomic experts, the most renowned industry research firms, and the most authoritative news providers. This is combined with EMIS’s own company and M&A research to offer a multi-faceted view of each emerging market.
Gale Academic This link opens in a new window
New
Research academic topics ranging from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Ideal for smaller academic libraries
Gale Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
New
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Collections are chosen based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Gale Australia and New Zealand This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Gale ANZ
Features a variety of magazines, journals, news, and multimedia sources across academic disciplines and areas of interest, covering important issues and current events related to Australia and New Zealand
Gale Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
New
Focussing on the interdisciplinary study of sustainability and the environment, this database provides a wealth of authoritative content, empowering students and researchers to critically analyse and understand important topics that affect people around the world. This database also provides news, overview information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents, and statistics in research areas, such as energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development. Also, users can access directory information to find international organisations in areas of interest.
Gale Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
New
A digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Gale General This link opens in a new window
New
Full text of The Times and Financial Times, and The Economist ranging from 1988 to the present, with no embargo Full text of The New York Times from 1985 to present, updated daily Elsevier abstracts from 1996 to present Open URL compliance for access to e-journal and subscription materials, allowing users to save and share URLs Full-text articles from periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLA, PsycINFO, ERIC, EconLit, and others
Gale Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
New
Resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Datasebase includes articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
New
Database cover topics including COVID-19, Diseases and Conditions, Drugs, Diagnostics and Tests, Therapies, Treatements and Surgeries, Mental Health, Community Health
Gale In Context Science This link opens in a new window
New
An engaging online resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Gale's authoritative reference content is merged with full-text magazine, academic journal, and news articles; experiments, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organised into a user-friendly portal experience
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window
New
Database provide resources to development skills in critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Gale Interactive Chemistry This link opens in a new window
New
Introduces interactive 3-D models to college-level course study, creating an immersive experience meant to enhance traditional text-based instruction. Chemistry students can explore elements, reactions, crystals, molecules, and compounds. Users can explore 3-D models by zooming in, rotating, and dissecting them. A robust help section, particularly useful in the case of the modeling software, rounds out this collection of products, suitable for academic libraries.
Gale Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
New
Interactive research with 3D models that help make human anatomy concepts easier to understand. Used for independent learning and front of class teaching, with a session based structure that provides regular opportunities for reflection and adaptation of both teaching and learning approaches. To help develop critical thinking and research skills.
Gale Interactive Science This link opens in a new window
New
Comprehensive view of the most-studied science subjects. Authoritative, high-quality digital content is paired with interactive 3D models with functionality including zooming in, rotating, or pulling them apart. A visual online tool that empowers instructors to teach science topics through an easy-to-use, intuitive interface.
Gale Literacy Index This link opens in a new window
New
Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source. Gale Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
Gale Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
New
Research in full-text perr-reviewed titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Serves the needs of nursing students and researchers in allied health fields who are looking for answers related to the specialised care, treatment and management of all types of patients, including: Dealing with accident and trauma victims, Supporting cardiovascular surgery, Giving emergency care, Providing neonatal care, and Delivering babies.
Gale Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
New
Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
Gale Psychology This link opens in a new window
New
Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Gale Science This link opens in a new window
New
Access to daily updated information on the latest developments across a range of scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Gale Select This link opens in a new window
New
Gale Select has Business Resources, Health and Medicine Resources modules, Environmental Science and General Science.
IWA Journals This link opens in a new window
New
Has information on the most valuable resource, water, helping to improve global health and well-being. The access available for the below journal titles:
AQUA, Blue-Green Systems, H2Open Journal, Hydrology Research, Journal of Hydroinformatics, Journal of Water & Climate Change, Journal of Water & Health, Journal of Water, Sanitation & Hygiene for Development, Water Policy, Water Practice & Technology, Water Quality Research Journal, Water Reuse, Water Science & Technology, Water Supply
AQUA, Blue-Green Systems, H2Open Journal, Hydrology Research, Journal of Hydroinformatics, Journal of Water & Climate Change, Journal of Water & Health, Journal of Water, Sanitation & Hygiene for Development, Water Policy, Water Practice & Technology, Water Quality Research Journal, Water Reuse, Water Science & Technology, Water Supply
Sage Catalyst This link opens in a new window
New
SAGE Catalyst provides access to social science textbooks with virtual collaboration, classroom discussion, and peer-to-peer learning enabled within the textbooks.
Ask the Library
LIBRARY CHAT
During semester:
10am–4pm: Mon – Fri
Check Library hours calendar for LibChat availability