This guide has been designed to provide a starting point for finding and using resources in the VU Library that will support the Bachelor of Building Design degree.
This page provides information on getting started on your assignment and keyword searching strategies.
Refer to the Academic integrity & preventing plagiarism page to read about acknowledging the sources of the ideas you use in your writing.
Do you know what you are looking for?
Think about what types of information you would require in order to tackle your assignment, e.g. textbooks, handbooks or manuals, ebooks, research articles, standards, government publications? Write down any significant words (keywords) that describe your topic.
Course or unit coordinators generally provide a list of references (reading material) linked to a unit that is a good starting point for getting familiar with the topic. If the reading list is not provided, then you can start with a textbook, encyclopedia or a subject dictionary to gain a basic understanding of the topic.
Know where to look for information sources
Use the Library Search, the library’s discovery platform to find library resources. The Library Search enables you to search across the range of library’s online and print resources in one search. View the results of your search in the retrieved list of records. Each record gives brief bibliographic details of the item and either a link that provides the full access to the item, or the information about the item’s location including how many copies are available.
The classic library catalogue is still available and convenient as it allows for field searching (e.g. unit code) that the Library Search does not allow for. It is also the fastest tool for looking up the exact title or the author you are looking for.
For more information on using e-books, books, and journal articles view the Books & eBooks, or Databases & journals tabs.
Browse the shelves
A number of useful print material is available on the library shelves. A book is shelved according to its call number. Call numbers group similar subjects together on the library shelves. View the subject areas and call number ranges that are typically relevant to Architecture.
This content is licensed to Victoria University under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Keywords (or key words) are words that tell you what approach you should take when answering an assignment question.
Keywords can include content (topic), limiting (restricting), and task (instruction) words.
"You are required to design a two-storey or a three-storey facility that will be constructed on a vacant lot in the Best City Council (site information and design brief are provided). The facility will be designed to meet the relevant building regulations and design standards for the early childhood facilities."
Source: University of New South Wales
When you are searching for information for an essay question, assignment or project, use the identified content and limiting keywords to search for information sources in our Library Search and online.
Sample assignment topic: "Design a two-storey or a three-storey facility that will be constructed on a vacant lot in the Best City Council (site information and design brief are provided). The facility will be designed to meet the relevant building regulations and design standards for the early childhood facilities."
Once you have analysed your topic and done some preliminary reading, you are ready to break down the chosen research topic into key concepts selected from both the topic and your readings. It is best to identify 2 to 4 key concepts, with each concept containing up to 2 words, which will serve as keywords or search terms you'll type in Library Search to find relevant resources. You might need to build separate search strategies for different aspects of your research as well as use a variety of keywords to ensure you cover all aspects of the topic.
Source: University of Texas Libraries
For example, focusing on the assignment topic, listed are the main concepts or keywords: 'building design', and 'early childhood facility', and the narrower concepts, such as 'low-rise buildings', 'building regulations', and 'design standards'. Alternatively, you could use synonymous (related), or broader and narrower terms, such as:
low-rise early childhood building design
facility design & construction
educational facilities design
child care facilities design
child care centre
educational facilities planning
educational facilities design
site planning process
site development plan
Apply the following strategies to combine them:
architectural site analysis AND (climate OR environment OR climate analysis OR ambiance OR "atmospheric conditions")
Boolean Operators are the words AND, OR, and NOT used in library databases that can make searches more precise, and save you time by removing the need to go through all the search results in order to find the most relevant articles. For example, when searching on the topic of 'urban design', you could apply the following terms and operators:
AND narrows the search resulting in more focused results, for instance, searching for “urban design” AND "social aspects', all articles in your result will include both concepts (keywords)
OR broadens the search by instructing the database to search for any of the words, which is particularly useful for synonyms or related terms, i.e. “urban design” OR “city planning” OR “civic design”
NOT narrows the search by instructing the database to remove all unnecessary search results, for example “urban design” NOT “history”
Search the library
Victoria University acknowledges, recognises and respects the Ancestors, Elders and families of the Bunurong/Boonwurrung, Wadawurrung and Wurundjeri/Woiwurrung