Library Guides: Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Mechanical Engineering): Databases & journals

Key mechanical engineering databases

Full-text databases provide a set of more specific resources than the general Library Search. The term 'full-text' indicates that the full article is located in the database. There are also research citation databases that have the details of the articles but no full-text. There are many full-text databases available through VU library specific to particular Engineering disciplines. There are a couple listed below.

AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering is an interactive engineering reference and teaching platform that provides students with the tools they need to learn and apply solutions to real-world problems, as well as help them prepare for exams and certifications. It is built for learners and educators alike.
Knovel
Knovel and its Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering collection contains a range of scientific books, tables and tools. It has some useful features such as property search, and interactive equations.
Proquest One Academic
Incorporates scholarly journals, ebooks, dissertations, news and video content across all disciplines in a unified and seamless user interface.
Academic Search Elite
This scholarly collection offers information in a broad range of areas including: engineering, architecture, built environment, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect contains many peer reviewed journals with full-text content. This database covers areas in science, technology, medicine, the social sciences, and business.
ENGINE Australian Engineering Database
Australian Engineering Database (ENGINE), produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia, indexes published and unpublished material on Australian engineering information with source documents including conference papers, journal articles, technical papers, books, discussions, news articles and unpublished papers.
Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It covers topics in engineering, chemistry, physics, mathematics, earth and environmental sciences, agricultural and biological sciences, health, life sciences, social science, psychology, economics, business and management. Advances features include tracking and analysis tools for identifying cited references, authors and publications.
ASHRAE Handbook
ASHRAE, the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, is a non-profit, technical organisation that develops and publishes standards for the Heating, Ventilating, Air-conditioning and Refrigerating (HVAC&R) industry. Its best- known flagship publication is the ASHRAE Handbook. The ASHRAE Handbook is published in a series of four volumes comprising of many chapters. The four ASHRAE volumes are Fundamentals, Refrigeration, HVAC Applications (‘Applications’), and HVAC Systems and Equipment (’Systems and Equipment’).
SpringerLink Books
A broad range of science, technology and medicine related areas are covered, including mechanical engineering.

Key journals

Australian Journal of Mechanical Engineering

Mechanics and Mechanical Engineering

Power engineering

Advances in Mechanical Engineering

Australian Journal of Mechanical Engineering

Journal of Mechanical Engineering and Sciences

Mechanical Sciences

Journal of Mechanical Science & Technology

Periodica polytechnica: mechanical engineering

O'Reilly

Victoria University Library subscribes to the O'Reilly Online, a digital library that provides access to many books on technology, IT, web development, mobile apps, entrepreneurship, UX/IA, project management, business strategy, digital media, graphic design, engineering, maths, statistics, and many other topics. The platform also contains access to more than 30 000 hours of video, as well as interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audiobooks.

O'Reilly

Library Guides

Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Mechanical Engineering): Databases & journals

On this page

Key mechanical engineering databases

Key journals

O'Reilly