Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- Bachelor of Social Work
- Books & e-books
The library purchases and provides access to electronic books (e-books) for VU students and staff. You can link through to these from the library website and read them online. You will also be able to download some books for a set time to read.
These e-books are accessed through different companies and each will have different restrictions about downloading and printing. Follow this link to the library website and view the videos below for further information about accessing e-books, help guides and downloading.
There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook and often limits on how much you can print and copy. If you get a message saying the eBook is already in use, try accessing it later.
# For more assistance with finding and using eBooks, see our eBooks Guide.
Our Voices : Aboriginal Social Work by
The second edition of Our Voices is a ground-breaking collection of writings from Aboriginal social work educators who have collaborated to develop a toolkit of appropriate behaviours, interactions, networks, and intervention. The the text explores a range of current and emerging social work practice issues such as cultural supervision, working with communities, understanding trauma, collaboration and relationship building, and the ubiquity of whiteness in Australian social work. It covers these issues with new and innovative approaches and provides valuable insights into how social work practice can be developed, taught and practiced in ways that more effectively engage Indigenous communities.
The road to social work and human service practice by
The 5th edition of the Road to Social Work and Human Service Practice provides a comprehensive introduction to all aspects of practice in the professions of social work and the human services. It lays out the journey and expertly signposts the key areas of knowledge, skills, values, ethics, practice contexts and contemporary debates. Client and practitioner perspectives offer reflections on real-life social work and human services interventions, while new case studies show how theory can be applied to practice.
Engaging with Social Work by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the diverse and contested world of social work. It explores the key concepts and theoretical frameworks underpinning contemporary social work practice, as well as relevant professional skills and strategies from a critical perspective. In a rapidly changing world, it locates critical social work as a part of broader and ongoing struggles for social justice and human rights. Readers are encouraged to think about what social work is or should be, and what sort of social worker they would like to become. The book covers a broad range of topics, including the history and development of social work as a profession, values and ethics, theories for practice, and the fields and context of practice. Definitions of key terms, reflective exercises and case studies are integrated throughout the text. Written by a diverse team of experienced educators, this is a stimulating, rigorous and student-friendly resource.
Working with Human Service Organisations by
Working with Organisations teaches students to find a balance between working with clients and their employing agency. It will show students how to constructively, collaboratively and ethically engage within the organisational structure by providing them with the tools to advocate for professional values.The second edition uses an interdisciplinary introduction to working effectively with employing agencies appropriate for students across the human services industry.NEW TO THIS EDITIONNew and updated case scenarios and examples help students visualise restraints and opportunities they may encounter when working with organisationsImproved navigation includes signposting, chapter aims and an expanded table of contentsNew chapters on structure for Supervision and Management, Leading and Managing, and Collaborative and Integrated PracticeUpdated 'Stop and Think' questions encourage students to reflect on the implications for effective practiceCritically Reflective Practice encourages students to use critical thinking to understand and explain the implications for effective practice.
Counselling Skills for Social Workers by
Counselling skills are very powerful. Really listening and providing compassionate empathy without judging is a core part of social work practice with service users. This book provides a theoretically informed understanding of the core skills required to provide counselling interventions that work. It provides detailed discussion of three core skills which are identified as: talking and responding, listening and observing and thinking. Over 11 chapters these core skills are described in terms of what they mean, how they can be learned and developed, how they can be used and misused and, most importantly, how specific skills can be employed in a coherent and evidence-informed counselling approach. Loughran also looks in detail at the skills required to deliver interventions consistent with three approaches: Motivational Interviewing, Solution-Focused Work and Group work. Illustrative case examples and exercises offer further opportunities for reflection and exploration of self-awareness as well as for practising and enhancing skills development, thus making the book required reading for all social work students, professionals looking to develop their counselling skills and those working in the helping professions more generally. Terms such as social worker, therapist and counsellor will be included as they inform counselling skills in social work.
An Introduction to Group Work Practice by
Widely used by professionals, educators, and students in undergraduate and graduate courses in schools of social work , this text presents a comprehensive, coherent, organized overview of group work practice from a generalist practice perspective. The new Eighth Edition continues to include typologies illustrating group work practice with task and treatment groups at the micro-, meso-, and macro-levels. Thoroughly updated throughout, the new edition of An Introduction to Group Work Practice includes research on virtual groups, updated and deeper content on practice with treatment and task groups, the most current literature on working with reluctant and resistant group members, updated and expanded sections on working with individuals who have difficulty engaging in and sustaining work in groups, updated material on leadership and diversity, and thoroughly updated reference material and new content from evidence-based practice sources. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded assessments. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad#65533; and Android#65533; tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone for 50-60% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
Social Research by
From question development and research design to data collection and statistical analysis, this text guides the reader through every aspect of social research. Encouraging a critical approach in each chapter, this 4th edition includes enhanced coverage of internet sampling, mixed methods, conversation analysis and feminist research.
Evidence Based Practice Process in Social Work by
Graduate students in social work are dedicated to gaining the skills and knowledge to promote individual, family, and community well-being. Yet, students often struggle with translating research concepts into best practice. They must garner the skills to consider 1) client needs and preferences, 2) the best available evidence, and 3) the implementation context. Evidence-Based Practice Process in Social Work: Critical Thinking for Clinical Practice offers a framework for aligning these three essential ingredients of the evidence-based practice (EBP) process.
Use reference materials to:
Dictionary of Social Work by
"This updated and revised version of a very popular and well received book provides a key quick reference work for students, and new and experienced practitioners. The succinct résumés of current issues and their implications for practice and policy help readers to get to grips with the wide range of key concepts and terms used in social work, social care, law and health services. This book is highly recommended for its wide-ranging set of summaries which are valuable in first encounters with, or updating of, knowledge in social work." Professor Brian Littlechild, Associate Head of School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, University of Hertfordshire "This Dictionary of Social Work provides a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the terminology used in social work. The evidence based entries are cross-referenced and informed by up to date legislation. Very detailed and useful contextual information are included and the reader is directed to other sources of information. This dictionary is a must read for all social work students, practitioners and academics and should be included on all social work reading lists." Dr Frank Keating, Senior Lecturer In Health and Social Care, Royal Holloway University of London "I consider this to be an invaluable handbook of social work knowledge which is highly accessible, informative and concise. Many will be surprised by the content which exceeds expectation as it goes much further than a standard dictionary, offering understanding and initial analysis of a range of difficult concepts. This is a 'must have' reference text which social work students will carry with them throughout their degree studies. An essential instrument for navigating through the vast range of subject matter confronting social work students. One of few of its type, its features will ensure it remains a highly attractive acquisition." Martin Sheedy, Senior Lecturer, Centre for Social Work, Liverpool John Moores University With over 1500 entries, this popular dictionary provides concise and up to date explanations of the theories, approaches and terminology that define front-line social work and social care. These entries explain, in jargon-free language, how key concepts can be used to improve practice. Clear explanations outline significant developments such as Every Child Matters and the personalization of adult services. Entries are helpfully cross referenced and are evidence based. They reflect professional values and are written by specialists in the field, with a specific focus on the most recent legislation and policy guidance from government. This book is a key reference for students in further and higher education who are preparing for careers in social work, community care, residential care, child care, the probation service, counselling, and psychiatric nursing.
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care
Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics such as health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available.
Historical dictionary of the welfare state by
This third edition of Historical Dictionary of the Welfare State covers the history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 hundred cross-referenced entries that focus on the definitions and concepts that are the most relevant, long lasting, and important concepts.
