NBC1111 Fundamentals of Building Construction: Codes, Standards & Reports

A guide for students studying NBC1111 and associated units

The National Construction Code (NCC)

The National Construction Code (NCC) is a key resource for the building and construction industry, that sets the minimum requirements for the design, construction and performance of buildings throughout Australia. The NCC, published by the Australian Building Codes Board, incorporates all on-site building and plumbing requirements into a single code. The NCC also provides the minimally necessary requirements for safety, health, amenity and sustainability in the design and construction of buildings.

To access the current NCC 2019 Amendment 1 (valid from 1 July 2020), available free of charge, register and create your account with the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB). 

The NCC Standards interactive house

The award-winning interactive experience of a graphical, 3D design of a house provides a simple and entertaining way to discover building and plumbing Standards referenced within the NCC that apply to residential dwellings. The 3D nodes and interactive hotspots on the house allow to see which Standards apply and are referenced by the NCC.

Accessing Australian Standards Online database

Australian Standards database, provided by SAI Global Standards, maintains the world’s largest repository of standards and technical publications, including the complete collection of current Australian Standards. The standards database is limited to 3 simultaneous users only. If you are unable to access the database immediately, try logging in again later. It is important to log out when you have finished using it to enable access to others. Select quick search to enter the standards number, keyword or title and then click on search. There is no need to enter AS or AS/NZS in front of a standard number when searching for a specific standard.

The image is showing the Australian Standards databases search example.

How to find Australian Standards at VU

Statistics, Legislation, Reports

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics provides statistics on a broad range of subject areas including government, economy, education, population. Refer to it’s Building and Construction site for the statistics information on building and construction activities.

Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)

It is possible to search for Australian Standards referenced in legislation and case law via the Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) freely available database. The AustLII database provides access to a broad range of legislation and cases from across Australia.

IBISWorld database

IBISWorld provides industry and company data and business environment statistics for a wide range of Australian industries and companies. Check out the house construction industry for some relevant research reports.