Library Guides: Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Civil Engineering): Databases & journals

Key civil engineering databases

Full-text databases provide a set of more specific resources than the general Library Search. The term 'full-text' indicates that the full article is located in the database. There are also research citation databases that have the details of the articles but no full-text. There are many full-text databases available through VU library specific to particular Engineering disciplines. There are a couple listed below.

The Engineering Collection (ProQuest)
Multidisciplinary, multiformatted collection of thousands of books, journals, videos, [audio], news sources, dissertations, magazines, grey literature, and more.
Knovel
Knovel is a key source of technical information for engineers and scientists from authoritative sources. It contains an extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from many different publishers, including reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases.
AccessEngineering (McGraw Hill)
AccessEngineering is an interactive engineering reference and teaching platform that provides students with the tools they need to learn and apply solutions to real-world problems, as well as help them prepare for exams and certifications. It is built for learners and educators alike.
ASCE Journals
The American Society of Civil Engineers indexes all ASCE publications since 1972.
ICE Virtual Library
The ICE Virtual Library provides access to one of the largest repositories of full-text civil engineering papers in the world.
SpringerLink Books
A broad range of science, technology and medicine related areas are covered, including mechanical engineering.
ENGINE Australian Engineering Database
Australian Engineering Database (ENGINE), produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia, indexes published and unpublished material on Australian engineering information with source documents including conference papers, journal articles, technical papers, books, discussions, news articles and unpublished papers.
ASHRAE Handbook
ASHRAE, the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, is a non-profit, technical organisation that develops and publishes standards for the Heating, Ventilating, Air-conditioning and Refrigerating (HVAC&R) industry. Its best- known flagship publication is the ASHRAE Handbook. The ASHRAE Handbook is published in a series of four volumes comprising of many chapters. The four ASHRAE volumes are Fundamentals, Refrigeration, HVAC Applications (‘Applications’), and HVAC Systems and Equipment (’Systems and Equipment’).
Academic Search Elite
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals and magazines, including peer-reviewed. Covers a wide variety of subjects, including architecture and art. Includes a broad range of areas including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect contains many peer reviewed journals with full-text content. This database covers areas in science, technology, medicine, the social sciences, and business.
Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It covers topics in engineering, chemistry, physics, mathematics, earth and environmental sciences, agricultural and biological sciences, health, life sciences, social science, psychology, economics, business and management. Advances features include tracking and analysis tools for identifying cited references, authors and publications.
O'Reilly
O'Reilly Media produces books and online learning content to help professionals learn best practices and stay on top of emerging trends shaping the future. It translates highly technical information into readable and usable formats like books, digital media, e-learning and events.