E-books Guide: Reading e-books

Reading e-books online

You can read books online with any secure internet connection. Various features are available when reading online such as the ability to print, copy and save a limited number of pages, search within the book, annotate (highlight,create notes), bookmark pages, share links, and cite. 

Note: VU library subscribes to multiple e-book providers and not all features are available on all of the provider platforms.

Access Options

From the Find Library Resources box on the library homepage, there are different options allowing you to click through to the electronic book content. This depends on the publisher or package subscribed to by the library.

Below are few examples on how Access Options are displayed. Follow the links to read the ebooks.

Filters: Choose ebooks for Source Type:

The image is the results page. Arrows point at All Filters and the Source Type option with ebooks chosen.

 

Click on Access now (ebook):

The image shows Access now (ebook).

 

Click on Full Text Finder:

The image shows option to choose Full Text Finder to read the ebook.

 

Click on Full Text option - EPUB Full Text or PDF Full Text:

The image is another option. EPUB Full Text or PDF Full Text options are displayed.

 

Click on the platform name - Eg: Taylor and Francis

The image shows to choose the platform name option.

Reading on EBook Central

  • Search for the book through Find Library Resources on the Library website or EBook Central database. You may be prompted to enter your MyVU login and password.
  • Access your selected e-book through Ebook Central by clicking on Read Online.

The image shows Proquest ebook Read Online option.

  • Create a loan when prompted after browsing for several minutes or when printing/copying.
  • When reading online on Ebook Central, you can browse through the chapters, search within the book, annotate (highlight, create notes), and add books to your bookshelf.

The image shows features for ebooks on Proquest.

Reading on EBSCO eBooks

  • Search for the book through Find Library Resources on the Library website or the EBSCO eBook database. You may be prompted to enter your MyVU login and password if off campus.
  • Click on the links to follow - Access Options.

Access Option 1.

The image shows an option to access ebsco ebooks. Arrow points at Access now (ebook) option.​

Access Option 2.

The image is to show one option on how to access ebsco ebooks. Arrow points at Ebsco ebooks information.

 

  • When reading online in the EBSCO eBook database, you can browse through the chapters, search within the book and create notes.

The image shows the features available on ebsco ebook platform. Download, Cite, Print and Search Within features are pointed.