IEEE Referencing: Handbooks and manuals

Handbooks and manuals

Connect through to format examples which provide a review of each component that needs to be included in a reference.

Components of each format example

             

Then move to the FURTHER EXAMPLES table with many examples of book and e-book format types. 

Basic format to reference a print handbook or manual

[#]     Name of Manual/Handbook, xth ed. Abbrev. Name of Comp., City of Comp., Abbrev. State, Country, Year, pp. xxx-xxx (pages if relevant).

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Name of Manual/Handbook
  • If the manual is a second or subsequent edition, include the edition statement, e.g.  3rd ed.
  • Publisher, i.e. the abbreviated name of company or institution that published the manual
  • Place of publication. Refer to Place of publication for information on the correct format of locations
  • Year of publication
  • Pages, if relevant

[1]     Audel Electrician's Pocket Manual, 2nd ed. Wiley Pub., Indianapolis, IN, 2003.

Basic format to reference an electronic handbook or manual

[#]    Name of Manual/Handbook, xth ed. Abbrev. Name of Comp., City of Comp., Abbrev. State, Country, Abbrev. Month. Year, pp. xxx-xxx (pages if relevant). Accessed: Abbreviated Month, Day, Year. [Online]. Available: site/path/file 

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Name of Manual/Handbook
  • If the manual is a second or subsequent edition, include the edition statement, e.g.  3rd ed.
  • Publisher, i.e. the abbreviated name of company or institution that published the manual
  • Place of publication. Refer to Place of publication for information on the correct format of locations
  • Year of publication
  • Accessed on: Month, Day, Year. Refer to the Abbreviated month section for further information
  • [Online]
  • Available: site/path/file location, which can be a DOI, a library database provider or a full URL

[2]    Electrical Safety Rules CEOP8030, no. 15, Essential Energy, Aug. 15, 2017. Accessed: May. 1, 2018. [Online]. Available: http://documents.essentialenergy.com.au/CEOP8030.pdf

Material type In-text example Reference List example
Print manual

User instructions are outlined in [6, pp. 25–33].

 

[6]    The MakerBot Replicator Desktop 3D Printer (Fifth Generation Model) User Manual, MakerBot Industries, Brooklyn, NY, 2014.

Note: Refer to Place of publication for information on the correct forms of countries, cities and U.S. states.
Electronic manual

Responsibilities of a contractor are discussed in [7].

 [7]    Plumbing Handbook: a Guide to Working with Water Corporation, Water Corporation, Leederville, WA, Australia, 2014. Accessed: Nov. 25, 2015. [Online]. Available: https://www.watercorporation.com.au/~/media/files/builders-and-developers/building/plumbing-handbook.pdf