Library Guides: OER Textbooks: OER Textbook sources

Textbook Repositories

Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
A platform for discovery open access e-books.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles in the public domain. Consult the "Rights" statement included in the page view of individual item for reuse.
JSTOR
More than 4,000 Open Access ebooks are now available at no cost to libraries or users. These titles reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content and are freely available for anyone in the world to use.
M.O.S.T Commons
"The Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.) Commons is an online space designed to support faculty and staff in discovering materials, collaborating with colleagues, and contributing OER to improve curricula."
Project Gutenberg
Offers over 53,000 free e-books. Most may be freely used. Note the ”Terms of Use” for reuse.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge. For reuse, select those with a Creative Commons license.

Curated Collections

OpenStax
"OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University, and it’s our mission to improve student access to education. Our first openly licensed college textbook was published in 2012, and our library since scaled to more than 20 books for college and AP courses used by hundreds of thousands of students."
BCcampus OpenEd
In 2012 at the annual OpenEd conference in Vancouver announced the creation of the B.C. Open Textbook Project. The goal of the project was to make higher education more accessible by reducing student cost through openly licensed textbooks.
Milne Open Textbooks (formerly OpenSUNY textbooks)
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff (State University of New York).
IntechOpen
"Where academia and industry create content with global impact. We pride ourselves on our belief that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone."
NOBA
An online platform of open psychology textbooks; users can build a textbook from freely available chapters.
Open Textbooks for Tertiary Institutions
Developed by the Open Textbooks for Hong Kong project. Most textbooks are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike license.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
A collection of subjects including accounting, general business, science & mathematics, management & leadership, business law & ethics, and social sciences.

Search engines

BASE academic search engine
"BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library."
NOTE: Use 'Advanced search' and limit to books.
Oasis
"Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records."

Australian University Presses

University Presses provide an alternative publishing route for authors, and while strictly OERs due their re-use conditions, they ar a great source of Australian material. Check out the copyright restrictions on this material. Much of the material can be read online and downloadable, Author attribution required.

Library Guides

OER Textbooks: OER Textbook sources

On this page

Textbook Repositories

Curated Collections

Search engines

Australian University Presses