Access VU Sydney & VU Brisbane resources: Find Information

Searching for journal articles

You can find online journal articles in two ways.

Select the "Journal articles" button on the Library search box and enter your search terms.
Limit your search results to "Full Text".
You can further refine your search by publication date and if required, limit to peer-reviewed articles.
Need more help?

You can also use databases to find journal articles.
Select your database from the alphabetical listing, or browse by subject to find a relevant database.
Enter your keywords and refine your search as required.
Need more help?

If you are accessing online resources off-campus, you will need to enter your student number and library PIN when prompted.

Journal Databases available via the VU Library

Business Source Ultimate Search for journal articles for your assignments. There is a variety of information in there- from magazines, case studies, SWOT analysis to scholarly papers. If you want to limit to peer reviewed journals, tick Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box.

ScienceDirect This database has journal articles in science, technology, medicine, the social sciences and business- Information management, marketing, accounting etc.

Taylor & Francis Social sciences journals including management, tourism, computer sciences, economics, logistics etc.

Sage Journals  Mutli-disciplinary journal database and peer reviewed journals in Business studies.

Proquest One Academic  Scholarly journals, e-books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers. (Has 20 databases including ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete (e-books), and Academic Video Online). You can limit our search to academic journals.

Proquest Central  Covers databases across all major subject areas (including Business) and has periodicals and newspapers from around the world. You can limit our search to just academic journals.

Emerald Search for journal articles for your assignments. Emerald contains over 200 academic and professional journals in Management, Human Resource Management, Quality, Marketing, Operations and Production, Accounting & Finance, and Information Management, Information Management and Organisational Behaviour. Access via the library (not via Emerald.com)

How to search he EMERALD database

Orbis Database

ORBIS

Orbis contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide ranging from large and small listed and unlisted companies. Use it to research individual companies, search for companies by profile and analyse companies. Listed companies normally contain more detailed information. Orbis has information on 130 million private companies. Orbis includes: Company financials in a standardised format, Financial strength indicators, Ratings, Options to create your own ratios and bring in your own data fields, Directors and contacts, Original filings/images, Stock data, Private equity data and portfolios, Patents, Detailed corporate and ownership structures, Industry research, Business and company-related news, and M&A deals and rumours.

How it helps you

  • Search by hundreds of criteria
  • Do a detailed financial analysis on a company
  • Refer to original filings using our library of scanned images
  • Illustrate financials with our easy-to create graphs
  • Get a quick view of a company’s financial strength - we have financial models from a range of expert partners
  • Watch companies using our flexible alert systems
  • Look at a company’s corporate structure in a tree diagram and find all companies with the same parent
  • Research beneficial ownership and use in client on-boarding/compliance projects - you can even edit to be compatible with your definition of beneficial ownership
  • Create and analyse peer groups
  • Access information on patents associated to companies
  • Enrich your knowledge and internal data on companies - include financial data appropriate for credit analysis
  • Customise your own reports
  • The company reports are in a detailed standardised format
  • Historical information going back 10 years

Connect to ORIBIS

How to Search the ACM Digital Library

Key Electrical and Electronics Engineering databases

Full-text databases provide a set of more specific resources than the general Library Search. The term 'full-text' indicates that the full article is located in the database. There are also research citation databases that have the details of the articles but no full-text. There are many full-text databases available through VU library specific to particular Engineering disciplines. There are a couple listed below.

Google vs VU Library and evaluating information https://libraryguides.vu.edu.au/evaluating_information_guide/evaluationcriteria

Google vs. VU Library from Victoria University Library on Vimeo.

Search engines are widely regarded as the most popular means of finding information. However, Google, Bing or Yahoo and other popular search engines should never be your only research tool.

 

 

Document supply

What if the VU Library doesn't have the full text of a journal article?

You will be prompted to access an online document supply service when you search the VU Library databases and cannot find the full-text journal article 
This service will send the scanned article (if available) to your VU Student Email  which must be activated.

This service is available to VU Staff and Higher degree students.