Library Guides: Bachelor of Speech and Language Sciences/Master of Speech Pathology: Journals & Articles

Resources to support the VU Bachelor of Speech & Language Sciences & Master of Speech Pathology courses

Selection of Speech Pathology journals

International Journal of Speech- language Pathology

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology

Journal of Communication Disorders

Language and Speech

Journal of Phonetics

Child Language Teaching and Therapy

Journal of Child Language

Journal of Clinical Practice in Speech-Language Pathology.

Clinical journal of Speech Pathology Australia.

Dysphagia (open in Browzine)

Click here for more speech pathology journals (via Browzine app)

Understanding journal articles

About Journals

Academic Search Ultimate Academic Search Ultimate database provides access to information resources in a broad subject areas including speech pathology
CINAHL with Full Text CINAHL with Full Text provides access to journal articles in nursing and a range of allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is an online resource containing a regularly updated collection of evidence-based databases, including over 6,000 Cochrane reviews. These reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of different treatments in specific circumstances. Each review features a Plain Language Summary, with the aim of making the information accessible to everyone.
Informit Health Collection Informit Health Collection is a full text online database which delivers cover-to-cover access to core content from the Australasia region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Many titles included in the Collection are unavailable elsewhere online.
Linguistics Database (ProQuest) This database includes full-text journals and other sources. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Nursing & Allied Health database (Proquest) Provides access to journal literature in allied health disciplines, includes Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research
Speechbite Speech Pathology Database for Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy. The speechBITE database aims to provide access to the intervention research relevant to speech pathology and to help clinicians interpret treatment research.

Google Scholar

Many VU library databases can also be searched through Google Scholar.

Fulltext journal articles and research papers can be retrieved by clicking on the "Find Fulltext @ VU Library" link when it appears to the right of your search results. This will happen automatically while on campus but may need to be set up as "Library Links" under Scholar Settings to work from off-site. This video provides information on how to change settings from within Google Scholar.

Alternatively use this direct link which includes the VU institutional settings.