Library Guides: Master of Sport and Exercise Science : Databases & Journals

Library journals and databases

Victoria University library subscribes to a number of online databases, which collectively cover a huge range of disciplines and subjects.

Journal articles found through the VU library can be viewed, downloaded and printed to assist you with your assessments. The databases can be searched collectively through Library Search (external link) or you can search them individually on Library's Databases A to Z page. See a list of relevant Sport and Exercise Science databases on this page.

Use library databases to find peer-reviewed, high-quality articles and research papers.

Once you have decided on which database(s) to use

enter key terms to search
use advanced search options where possible
separate each key term or concept into a new search box (if available)
limit and refine your results using the tools available (refinement tools will differ for each database).

Follow this link to access online videos on accessing the Library Search and Library Databases.

What is peer review?

When an article is published in a peer-reviewed or refereed journal, it indicates that that article has been through a formal review process. It has been read by experts in the subject field before being accepted for publication. This ensures the information in the article is well-researched and contributes to the knowledge of the subject area.

Key sport & exercise science journals

Links to some key peer-reviewed journals in the disciplines of sport and exercise science;

SAGE Research Methods database

Having trouble finding information about different qualitative and quantitative methodologies?

SAGE Research Methods database is the answer! From first-year students up to PhD level and beyond SAGE Research Methods explains the different research methodologies and provides articles and book chapters about their implementation. Find Sage Research Methods under 'S' on the Library databases page or click here: SAGE Research Methods.

Relevant sport & exercise science databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Featuring more than 230 full-text titles, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, training, disabled persons, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window
The Human Kinetics Library is dedicated to the research, teaching, and understanding of the kinesiology and exercise science disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains many peer-reviewed journals with full text content. You can view, print and download full-text articles. This database covers areas in science, technology, medicine, the social sciences and business.
MEDLINE with Full Text (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, including biomedical research, human physiology, health policies, health promotion, nutrition, occupational health and epidemiological studies.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Includes peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in sports and exercise psychology.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, as well as information about Cochrane groups.
Journals@OVID This link opens in a new window
Journals@Ovid provides access to premium online journals in science, medicine, and healthcare.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers information in a broad range of areas including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Anatomy.TV includes interactive 3D anatomy models, MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary database, including Health and Medical, and Social Sciences journals.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central has pioneered the open access publishing model. It contains BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation journals and BMC Nutrition journals.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Resource for content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Provides resources physical therapy students, educators, and practicing professionals. It features interactive imaging tools, multimedia content, and flexible curricular resources to enhance learning and practice.

Citation databases

SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstracting and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information researchers need. Scopus provides support of the literature research process. Scopus offers15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers.
Web Of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes the Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Conference Proceedings and Book Citation Indexes.

Video databases

Alexander Street Counseling - the library subscribes to several streaming video databases where you can find real-life examples and interviews of responses to health issues. Here is an example of a video collection available through the Alexander Street Counseling database - counseling & therapy and sports medicine and exercise science in video
Kanopy - streaming video database where you can find a wide variety of videos. Here are 2 examples - Everyday Health and Depression and Suicide
LinkedIn Learning

Grey literature and other information sources

For example:

Theses
- Australian and International theses
Conference Papers/Conference Proceedings -
- Sport and Health Sciences Conferences
- ACSEP conference
Government Reports –
- Australian government report
NGO’s
- Australian accredited NGO’s
Research Reports & Policy -
- APO
Pamphlets
The Conversation - The Conversation contains news and views from academic and research communities.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. It can be a good starting point to gain an understanding of the breadth of research published on your topic.

Many VU library databases can also be searched through Google Scholar. Fulltext journal articles and research papers can be retrieved by clicking on the "Find Fulltext@VU Library" link when it appears to the right of your search results. This will happen automatically while on-campus but may need to be set up as "Library Links" under Scholar Settings to work from off-site.

Library Guides

Master of Sport and Exercise Science : Databases & Journals

On this page