Diploma of Nursing: Databases & journals

Search tips for finding journal articles

Identify the key concepts and major focus of your topic.

Look up the definitions of any unknown terms in a medical dictionary.

List alternative words that may be used for these concepts

Example:

CPR OR cardiopulmonary resuscitation OR  Basic Cardiac Life Support

Combine your search terms.

Type your search terms into Library Search or search Library databases listed on this page.

Use database features to narrow your search to peer reviewed journals or to a specific date.

Browse the abstracts to find journal articles on your topic

Click on the PDF Full text link to read the full journal article. 

Print, save or email journal articles.

Watch the video above on how to search Library Search for journal articles

ClinicalKey for Nursing

As a Diploma of Nursing student you have access to ClinicalKey for Nursing database.

To fully use the ebook and ejournal content you will need to register to create an account.

If you are having difficulties logging into the ClinicalKey for Nursing database you need to directly contact an Elsevier nominated representative.

https://service.elsevier.com/app/home/supporthub/clinicalkey/

 

What are journals and databases?

Before you start looking for your journal article, watch this video. It will explain what a scholarly or academic journal is, and what is a journal database. In addition, the video explains the peer review process and how you check the article is peer-reviewed.

CINAHL with Full Text via EBSCO Host

CINAHL database contains a range of full text academic journal articles, magazines and books. The database covers a wide range of areas including nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicines and consumer health information.

Informit Health Collection

The Health Collection contains a range of mostly Australian and New Zealand allied health and nursing journals. 

ProQuest Databases

The Library subscribes to many medical and health databases available on the ProQuest database platform.

When you access the ProQuest database, you are automatically searching multiple databases content simultaneously. This includes journals, videos, ebooks and dissertations.

You can also focus your search to the specific database using the Databases link on the top menu. 

The following are some of the databases that may be especially helpful:

Nursing & Allied Health Database offers comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

Health & Medical Collection covers clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration, and related topics.