SHE3001 Social Bases of Health: Databases & journals

SRMO database

Having trouble finding information about different qualitative and quantitative methodologies? Sage Research Methods OnlineSRMO is the answer! From first year students up to PhD level and beyond SRMO explains the different research methodologies and provides articles and book chapters about their implementation. Find SRMO under 'S' on the Library databases page or click here: SRMO.

What are academic journal articles?

What are academic journal articles?

  • Academic journals are regular publications that contain articles on current research.
  • Authors outline their research and present their findings and conclusions.
  • You can access a wide range of different journals according to the subject area and academic quality. Articles on similar topics are published together in journals, which can also be known as periodicals.
  • Academic journals provide good quality research articles. Usually, the articles contained within academic journals have been peer-reviewed.

How do we access academic journal articles?

  • The library subscribes to print copies of journals and puts them onto the library shelves.
  • The library subscribes to online databases which are collections of journals packaged together by topic. These databases can be searched using keywords, author names and subjects.
  • A search in the ‘Library Search’ accesses many journal articles in the databases.

What is Peer Review

When an article is published in a peer-reviewed or refereed journal, it indicates that that article has been through a formal review process. It has been read by experts in the subject field before being accepted for publication. This ensures the information in the article is well-researched, and contributes to the knowledge of the subject area.

Different access to peer-reviewed journal articles

Rather than searching ALL the library resources you can choose to search in ONE of the databases. Remember to limit your search results to peer-reviewed (or refereed) articles.

Newspapers

Current (and sometimes local) information but not peer reviewed

  • ANZ NEWSSTREAM - ANZ Newsstand contains articles from Australian and New Zealand national and regional newspapers. The coverage begins in 1996. 
  • INTERNATIONAL NEWSSTREAM - Search full-text international and Australian news content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites.
  • The Conversation - contains news and views from academic and research communities.

Video databases

  • Alexander Street Counseling - the library subscribes to several streaming video databases where you can find real-life examples and interviews of responses to health issues. Here is an example of a video collection available through the Alexander Street Counseling database - counseling & therapy.
  • Kanopy - streaming video database where you can find health and fitness related videos . Here are 2 examples - Everyday Health and Depression and Suicide

Transcript for how to find a peer-reviewed journal article on a library database

How to find a journal article on a library database (SportDiscus). In this presentation you will see how to find a journal article on a library database.To access databases, click on “Databases A-Z”. You can search the databases by name or browse alphabetically or by subject. Click on letter “S” to select SportDiscus database. Connect to the database by clicking on “SPORTDiscus with fulltext”. Enter your search terms. Select options available from the drop down menu. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles and full text as well as choose articles published in the last few years. Link to the full text of the article. For further information, please contact us through ‘Ask a Librarian’ service or talk to a rover or library staff member if on campus. 

Transcript for how to find a peer-reviewed journal article on library search

In this presentation you will see how to find a journal article on library’s search.You can search for journal articles on the library’s homepage by typing in the article title, the author or simply by entering keywords.Type in your key words. Choose ‘journal articles’ button and search.You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles, full text, as well as choose articles published in the last few years and add more keywords.To access journal article, click on “PDF full text” link or “check for full text” link. This checks all the library databases. If the article is not available, there is an option to request the article. For further information, please contact us through ‘Ask a Librarian’ service or talk to a rover or library staff member if on campus.

Transcript for What is Peer-review video

We all know the library is the perfect place for finding books - But it’s also a great resource for periodicals. So, what is a periodical anyway? Well, a periodical is any publication released on a regular schedule. Like magazines and newspapers. But those two aren’t all. Scholarly journals are a special type of periodical meant for academic research. Normal periodicals are published by corporations, with general information meant for academic research. Normal periodicals are published by corporations, with general information meant for a wide audience. While scholarly journals are published by academic institutions, they’re subject-specific, with articles focusing on narrow, precise topics. They’re edited and approved by a board of specialists – with references for each article. But more importantly, scholarly journals have all gone through a process known as peer review. That means research has been submitted through a double blind process, with academics on both ends operation anonymously. And before publication, every article is put through a rigorous approval system. All that matters is the research, and every step is taken to guarantee its quality. That way, when it reaches you, it’s filled with information you can trust. So, when doing your research, make the right choice with a source you can count on.

View this video