E-books Guide: Finding e-books

E-book providers at Victoria University

New e-books

Loading ...

Finding and searching for e-books

Library e-books have been purchased and subscribed from various providers and can be found using the Library Search as well as via Databases A-Z link. 

How to access and use e-books (Video)

Finding e-books using Library Search

Conduct a search using Library Search

Search for e-books on VU’s library website by typing in a title, author or simply by entering keywords in the Library Search box and selecting the "Books & e-books" option.


 

Refine your search

From the search results page, to identify an electronic book, look for the format of the book indicating ‘e-book’ on the screen.

You can further refine your search to show e-books published in the last few years by selecting the date range and e-books option from the left hand side of the page.

 

Note that you may be asked to enter your MyVU login and password.

Watch our step by step video on how to search the library for electronic books.

Finding e-books through Databases A to Z link

Alternatively, e-books can be found via Databases A to Z link.

Search the Database

Click on Databases A to Z link from the Library's homepage.

 

Type the name of the e-book database or the e-book provider/platform and click on Search. Alternatively, you can browse alphabetically to locate e-book databases.

 

Link to e-book database

From the database description page, click on the link to connect to the e-book provider's page.

Transcript for E-books: How to access and use e-books

In this presentation you will see how to search for an e-book using the library website as well as where to find information about e-books such as how to print or download.
E-books are books that can be accessed online 24/7, and can be read on computers and other mobile devices such as an iPad or iPhone. You can annotate the book, get a citation and share e-books easily.
You can search for e-books on the VU library website by typing in a title, author or simply entering keywords.
I have searched for the words ‘health AND exercise’ and then chosen the ‘books and e-books’ button and clicked on search.
This page shows all the search results. To identify an electronic book, look for the format of the book indicating ‘e-book’.
You can further refine your search to show e-books published in the last few years by selecting the date range and e-book option from the left hand side of the page.
The e-books have been purchased from a number of different providers so there is some variation between e-book borrowing, downloading, printing, reading off-line, transferring between devices and setting up accounts.
The library e-book page has information about these providers and help guides. To access e- book information, choose the option ‘Find Resources’ then select ‘Books’.
Back to our Library search! Let’s have a look at the second book on the results page by clicking on the e-book link.
Note: VU Library e-books have been purchased from a number of different companies so there is some difference between how e-books are borrowed, downloaded, printed, read off-line and transferred between devices. Loan periods vary between 1-7 days.
This particular book is provided by ProQuest EBook Central. You can read the book online or download it to your PC or mobile device. Access to the downloaded copy of the book is only for a limited time period. Look at the e-book page on the Library website for further information.
Once you have clicked on ‘Read online’, you will be able to read a chapter online, search within the book or print a limited number of pages.
Create a loan if prompted by a message on the screen.
This is how a page will appear when you are reading a chapter online.
For further information