Library Guides: Planetary Health resources at VU: Changing land and food production

Background Images: Unsplash

Can healthy food save the planet?

Searching across VU resources

Staff and students from Victoria University are able to access various online resources from VU Library. You may be initially diverted to the VU Portal log-in page. Enter your Victoria University credentials.

Below is a selection of search links that allow users to quickly re-run a search in VU Library Search.

Food systems and climate change Access Victoria University Library resources in the last 5 years.
Food systems and nutrition Access Victoria University Library resources in the last 5 years
Nutrition AND (environment OR food systems OR agriculture OR planet) Access Victoria University Library resources in the last 5 years.
Planetary health diet OR sustainable diet Access Victoria University Library resources in the last 5 years.
“Food sustainability” AND nutrition Access Victoria University Library journal articles in the last 5 years.
"Land use change" and Sustainability Access Victoria University Library journal articles and book chapters in the last 5 years.

Electronic books

Journals

Agricultural and Resource Economics Review Cambridge Core 2016 - Present "The Agricultural and Resource Economics Review (ARER) provides a forum for the dissemination of scholarly work undertaken throughout the world on the economics of agriculture, food, natural resources, rural communities, and the environment in addition to research in their associated subfields."
Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems Taylor & Francis 01/01/2013 - present “Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems is devoted to the rapidly emerging fields of agroecology and food system sustainability. By linking scientific inquiry and productive practice with transformative social action, agroecology provides a foundation for developing the alternative food systems of the future.”
Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 01/01/2013 - present “Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene is a trans-disciplinary, open-access journal committed to the facilitation of collaborative, peer-reviewed research with the ultimate objective of accelerating scientific solutions to the challenges presented by this era of human impact.”
Food Security Springer Nature 01/01/2009 - present “Addresses the challenges of achieving food security globally. Addresses the constraints - physical, biological, economic and socio-political - that limit food production and obstruct access to healthy diets. An official publication of the International Society for Plant Pathology (ISPP).”
Global Food Security ScienceDirect Freedom Collection 01/12/2012 - present “Global Food Security arose from concern about the difficulty for scientists and policy makers to keep up with the expanding volume of information published about the challenge of ensuring food systems are meeting human food and nutritional requirements while protecting the environment, securing livelihoods, mitigating against climate change, and ensuring equity.”
International Journal of Agricultural Sustainability Taylor & Francis 01/01/2003 - present “The International Journal of Agricultural Sustainability ( IJAS) is the leading cross-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the understanding and practice of sustainability in agricultural and food systems worldwide.”
Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 01/01/2010 - present “The Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development (JAFSCD) is the world's only peer-reviewed, a transdisciplinary journal focused solely on food and farming-related community development.”
Journal of Nutrition and Food Security DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 01/01/2016 - present “…add information to the knowledge of nutrition in prevention and management of diseases, nutrition in lifecycle, nutritigenetics, nutrigenomics, diet therapy, epidemiology of under- or over-nutrition and their consequences, nutritional epidemiology, food security, food science, chemistry, availability, and safety.”
Journal of Southern Hemisphere Earth Systems Science DOAJ: Directory or Open Access Journals 1952 - present "Publishes high-quality research across a broad range of areas: atmosphere, oceans, land surface and cryosphere–the mean state, as well as variability and change, from regional to hemispheric scales."
Landscape Ecology Springer Nature 01/02/1997 - present "Landscape Ecology draws together expertise from both biophysical and socioeconomic sciences to explore basic and applied research questions concerning the ecology, conservation, management, design/planning, and sustainability of landscapes as coupled human-environment systems."
Land Use Policy ScienceDirect Freedom Collection 01/01/1999 - present "Land Use Policy is an international and interdisciplinary journal concerned with the social, economic, political, legal, physical and planning aspects of urban and rural land use."
Plants, People, Planet Wiley Online Library Free Content 01/01/2018 - present “Plants, People, Planet is a cross-disciplinary Open Access journal, owned by the New Phytologist Foundation, focusing on the interface between plants and society.”
Regional Environmental Change Springer Nature 01/01/2000 - present "Publishes research on interactions between human and natural systems at the regional level"
Sustainability MDPI Open Access Journals 01/01/2009 - present “Sustainability is an international, cross-disciplinary, scholarly, peer-reviewed and open-access journal of environmental, cultural, economic, and social sustainability of human beings.”

VU research

Kaini, S. (2021). Climate change impacts on river water availability for irrigation, crop irrigation water requirements and canal system capacity needs in an irrigation scheme in Nepal [Doctoral dissertation, Victoria University]. Victoria University Research Repository.

Njume, Collise (2020) Bioactive components of Australian native plant species and their potential antidiabetic application within the Indigenous community [Doctoral dissertation, Victoria University]. Victoria University Research Repository.

Gabriel, H. (2018). UNIDROIT's work in contract farming and land investment in the broader context of agricultural development and food security. Uniform Law Review, 23(2), 270-281. https://doi.org/10.1093/ulr/uny014

Stockham, K. (2017). Antioxidants in food systems: influencing factors [Doctoral dissertation, Victoria University]. Victoria University Research Repository.

Strugnell, C., Millar, L., Churchill, A., Jacka, F., Bell, C., Malakellis, M., Swinburn, B., & Allender, S. (2016). Healthy together Victoria and childhood obesity: a methodology for measuring changes in childhood obesity in response to a community-based, whole of system cluster randomized control trial. Archives of Public Health, 74(1), 1-16. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13690-016-0127-y

Selected articles

Bliege Bird, R. & Bird, D. W. (2021). Climate, landscape diversity, and food sovereignty in arid Australia: The firestick farming hypothesis. American Journal of Human Biology, 33(4), 1-16. https://doi.org/10.1002/ajhb.23527

Goulding, T., Lindberg, R., & Russell, C. G. (2020). The affordability of a healthy and sustainable diet: An Australian case study. Nutrition Journal, 19, Article 109. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12937-020-00606-z

Parker, C., Carey, R., Haines, F., & Johnson, H. (2020). Can labelling create transformative food system change for human and planetary health? A case study of meat [PDF]. International Journal of Health Policy & Management. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.34172/IJHPM.2020.239

Schuster, R., Germain, R. R., Bennett, J. R., Reo, N. J., & Arcese, P. (2019). Vertebrate biodiversity on Indigenous-managed lands in Australia, Brazil, and Canada equals that in protected areas. Environmental Science & Policy, 101, 1-6. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.envsci.2019.07.002

Perry, J. J., Sinclair, M., Wikmunea, H., Wolmby, S., Martin, D., & Martin, B. (2018). The divergence of traditional Aboriginal and contemporary fire management practices on Wik traditional lands, Cape York Peninsula, Northern Australia [PDF]. Ecological Management & Restoration, 19(1), 24-31. https://doi.org/10.1111/emr.12301

Open Access collections

CSIRO: Food Systems and Global Change
CSIRO’s Food Systems and Global Change group is a multi disciplinary team of systems specialists that partner to deliver agricultural outcomes for improved global food and nutrition security. They deliver a diverse portfolio of projects and activities through three interconnected teams working across CSIRO and with numerous partners.
EAT
EAT is the science-based global platform for food system transformation.
EAT-Lancet Commission - Food in the Anthropocene: the EAT–Lancet Commission on healthy diets from sustainable food systems
"The EAT-Lancet Commission consists of 37 world-leading scientists from 16 countries from various scientific disciplines. The goal of the Commission was to reach a scientific consensus by defining targets for healthy diets and sustainable food production."
The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)
"The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) provides research-based policy solutions to sustainably reduce poverty and end hunger and malnutrition in developing countries." IFPRI provided Open access to journal articles, books, book chapters and discussion papers.
Northern Australia Environmental Research Portal
The Northern Australia Environmental Resources Portal brings together over a decade of environmental knowledge to help manage opportunities and expectations for the land and water resources of Australia's north.

Community news / projects

Websites

From The Conversation & Reasons to be Cheerful:

Podcasts

Streaming videos

There are many videos in Library streaming video databases that may be of research and teaching and learning relevance. Below is a selection of videos available.

You may also want to look at these collections of relevant videos:

Agriculture and Geology on Kanopy (305 videos)
Environmental Sciences on Kanopy (1,043 videos)
The ‘Food Systems Channel’ on Alexander Street (120 videos)
The Science of Natural Healing (24 video) What is the most effective way to nurture your own optimal health? Are there sound alternatives to the drugs so common in our health-care system, which can carry unwanted consequences and side effects? Make use of the best of nature-based medicine, live a truly nurturing lifestyle, and learn to care for your own well-being in the most comprehensive and far-reaching way.
Fundamentals of Sustainable Living series (12 Video) Become a more thoughtful consumer, save money, and reduce your ecological footprint with this course that teaches you how integrate sustainable practices into your everyday life. By learning specific knowledge and techniques on how to work more efficiently with the energy, water, and food you consume, you can live a more balanced and sustainable lifestyle that also positively impacts the world around you.

Library Guides

Planetary Health resources at VU: Changing land and food production

On this page

Can healthy food save the planet?

Searching across VU resources

Electronic books

Sustainable Food Systems

Environmental Nutrition

Edible Insects in Sustainable Food Systems

Healthy and Sustainable Food Systems

Planetary Health

Towards Healthy and Sustainable Diets

Promoting Biodiversity in Food Systems

Sustainable Diets

Health of People, Places and Planet

Food and Nutrition

Nutrition and Infectious Diseases

Planetary Health

Land Use and Spatial Planning

One Planet, One Health

Recognizing Indigenous rights through land-use planning in Canada and Australia

Australian native plants: Cultivation and uses in the health and food industries

Frontiers of taste: food sovereignty, sustainability, and Indigenous-settler relations in Australia

Handbook for Gender-Inclusive Urban Planning and Design

Environmental sustainability in a time of change

Land Use Change and Sustainability