Library Guides: Planetary Health resources at VU: Resources overview

Background images: All Unsplash, except 'Journals publications on display...' by International Institute of Tropical Agriculture: Library Services from Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Searching across VU resources

Staff and students from Victoria University are able to access various online resources from VU Library. You may be initially diverted to the VU Portal log-in page. Enter your Victoria University credentials.

Below is a selection of search links that allow you to re-run a VU Library search. Using the Limits option within the search results may be appropriate to focus your search more precisely. For all examples, a limit to all literature published in the last five years has been applied.

Planetary Health journal articles "planetary health" journal articles published in the last 5 years
Planetary Health teaching resources "planetary health" AND "teaching" resources published in the last 5 years
Planetary Health electronic books "planetary health" electronic books and chapters published in the last 5 years
Planetary health & Indigenous knowledges "planetary health" AND "indigenous knowledge" materials in the last 5 years.

L&T curriculum collection resources

CLEX, the ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes The Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes (CLEX) is an international research consortium of five Australian universities and a network of outstanding national and international partner organizations supported by the Australian Research Council.
Climate.gov Educational Resources Find and download scientifically and pedagogically reviewed digital resources for teaching about climate's influence on you and society and your influence on climate.
EPT Agenda 2023 Articles on planetary health education. "The Environmental Physiotherapy Agenda 2023 (EPT Agenda 2023) is a global call to action built around a single aim relevant to physical therapy or physiotherapy education." This aim of the agenda is "To ensure that every student beginning entry-level physiotherapy education from 2020 onwards will have education regarding the relationship between the environment, human health and functioning, and how this pertains to physiotherapy as part of their programme."
Learning & Teaching Sustainability: Teaching Materials Looking for sustainability teaching materials to use in the classroom? Our community of practice is dedicated to providing access to materials that our peers in sustainability education can utilise.
PH Education Resource Database This transdisciplinary database catalogues resources such as courses and classes (K-12 to graduate-level), certificate and degree programs, surveys and scorecards, academic opportunities (e.g. scholarships, fellowships, experiential learning), and more, across all domains of planetary health.
Teach the Earth Teach the Earth supports teaching and learning about the Earth by providing online resources for educators in the geosciences and related fields. Resources include classroom activities, course descriptions and syllabi, information about pedagogical strategies, topical collections, and more.
Top Ten Resources for Teaching Future Nurses about Planetary Health "The International Family Nursing Association (IFNA) has launched a year-long series of blog posts to support implementation of the organization’s Position Statement on Planetary Health and Family Health. This month’s focus is on the first of nine essential activities outlined in the position statement: Teaching future nurses about the relevance of planetary health to family health. We’ve curated a set of 10 multimedia and open access resources that already exist to support educators in taking the next step."
WithOnePlanet: Climate Change Education The WithOnePlanet library contains information and educational resources to assist people who are engaged with the WithOnePlanet Open Education program. This includes all the resources required to complete the Carbon, Culture and Citizenship learning modules and the livelihood training programs. Content is created for secondary school cohorts. Video content potentially useful.

L&T curriculum resources: journal articles

Education for sustainable healthcare: A transdisciplinary approach to transversal environmental threats
Education for sustainable health care: From learning to professional practice
Education for the Anthropocene: Planetary health, sustainable health care, and the health workforce
Faculty development and partnership with students to integrate sustainable healthcare into health professions education
The Planetary Health Education Framework [PDF] The Planetary Health Education Framework is a project of the Planetary Health Alliance (planetaryhealthalliance.org). The Planetary Health Alliance is a consortium of over 250 partners from around the world committed to understanding and addressing the human health impacts of global environmental change.

Victoria University databases

Environmental Issues Online Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more
Food Studies Online Provides ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world. Subject coverage includes policy, sociology, environmental studies, food safety, packaging, marketing, nutrition and more. Content includes primary and secondary sources, including cookbooks, menus, pamphlets, and videos such as vintage commercials and documentaries.
GreenFILE GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
Sustainable Development Goals Online A searchable online library of thousands of articles, book chapters, presentations, videos and lesson plans, all indexed and categorised, built in consultation with UN agencies and an international panel of research academics and professionals.
Water Intelligence Online Water Intelligence Online is an online information service for librarians and individuals providing access to a wealth of reference books, research reports, research papers and conference proceedings covering water, wastewater and related environmental topics.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.

Open Access collections

Ecospecifies Australasian free knowledge base of over 3500 eco-products, eco-materials, technologies and resources, the leading global source of sustainable development & life-cycle assessed green product information.
JSTOR Sustainability Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and more than 5,400 Open Access research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
The Lancet Planetary Health journal The Lancet Planetary Health, is a gold open access journal that seeks to be the pre-eminent journal for enquiry into sustainable human civilisations in the Anthropocene. As such, we publish peer reviewed research and reviews as well as comment, correspondence, and reportage broadly encompassing sustainable development (the SDG’s) and global environmental change.

Open Access books

Negotiating climate change in crisis Available in HTML or PDF "Bringing a wide range of social scientists together, this volume provides a much needed critical analysis of why meaningful action on climate change has been so elusive and what we can do about it. It asks the difficult questions and provides some promising answers.".[Prof. Harriet Bulkeley, Durham University}
Right research: Modelling sustainable research practices in the Anthropocene Available in HTML and PDF "The book is current and interdisciplinary, engaging with recent developments around this topic and including perspectives from sciences, arts, and humanities. It will be a welcome contribution to studies of the Anthropocene as well as studies of research methods and practices".[Sam Mickey, University of S. Francisco]
Living Earth community: Multiple ways of being and knowing Available in HTML or PDF " This book seeks answers from wise and creative thinkers who find remarkable new ideas in the confluence of ecological, religious, and Indigenous traditions. If you are looking for reasons to believe that humans can find a way through the unfolding catastrophe, this is your book, your hope, your answer." [Kathleen Dean Moore, author of Great Tide Rising: Toward Clarity]
One Planet, One Health "Nature is revealing to us the interdependence of environmental, animal and human health and emphasising that our resources are finite."

Planetary Health organisations

Interview: Tools for planetary health education - Day 2, 2021 PHAM

This interview will reveal how planetary health education is being developed and promoted at different academic levels. Speakers will explain current examples, as well as share steps for planetary health education to become mainstream.

Participants:

Moderator: Carlos Faerron Guzmán
Interviewee: Mayara Floss
Interviewee: Omnia El Omrani
Interviewee: Martin Herrmann

Library Guides

Planetary Health resources at VU: Resources overview

On this page