Library Guides: Master of Sport Business: Databases & journals

Library Databases and Journals

Victoria University library subscribes to a number of online databases and journals, which collectively cover a huge range of disciplines and subjects.

Journal articles found through the VU library can be viewed, downloaded and printed to assist you with your assessments. The articles on databases can be searched collectively through Library Search (external link) or you can search them individually on Library's A-Z Databases page. See a list of relevant Sport Business Databases and Sport Business Journal titles on this page.

Use library databases and journals to find peer-reviewed, high-quality articles and research papers.

Once you have decided on which database(s) to use

enter key terms to search
use advanced search options where possible
separate each key term or concept into a new search box (if available)
limit and refine your results using the tools available (refinement tools will differ for each database).

Follow this link to access information about how to find resources available via VU Library Page.

Relevant Sport Business Databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Featuring more than 230 full text titles, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 415 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete has financial data, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. In addition, Business Source Complete is a superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics and more.
Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight is home to more than 255,000 current and backfiles articles across the fields of business, management, economics, engineering, computing, technology and social sciences. Emerald Journals are double-blind peer reviewed, supported by a network of over 15,000 Editorial Advisory Board members.
Web Of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes the Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Conference Proceedings and Book Citation Indexes. Click on the MORE SETTINGS heading on the Core Collection Search page to search specific citation indexes.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Covers databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources. Hoover's Company Profiles – covers global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors and officers; OxResearch - covers regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covers global industries in depth; Snapshots – covers market research overviews.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online provides access to journals published by the Taylor & Francis Group, covering the areas of science and technology, social sciences and humanities, and medicine.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Publications publishes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together complete databases across major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy. Includes full-text newspapers from around the world.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. It is a large database of scientific, technical, and medical research with a wide variety of features and content. ScienceDirect contains many peer reviewed journals with fulltext content. This database covers areas in science, technology, medicine, the social sciences and business.
AUSPORT (Australian Sport Database) This link opens in a new window
Coverage 1989 - Aug 2012. Produced by the National Sport Information Centre, Australian Sports Commission. Subjects include aspects of Australian sport including administration, children, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology, women and Olympic Games (Sydney 2000).

Relevant Sport Business Journal Titles

A list of few key peer-reviewed journal titles in the discipline of the Sport Business under many subject areas are compiled below. These titles fall into Q1 quartile in SCImago Journal Rankings for 2020. The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database (Elsevier B.V.).

Comprehensive/ General:

Economics, Finance and Operations Research:

Journal of sports economics

Marketing and Media:

Communication and sport

Policy and Development:

International journal of sport policy

School and University Sports:

Sport, education and society

Sport Consumer Behaviour: Psychology, Sociology and History

Q2 quartile in Scimago Journal Rankings for 2020
Additional journal titles ranked in Q2 quartile in Scimage Journal Rankings 2020 can be found on this list.

Streaming Video Databases

Alexander Street Counseling and Therapy - Provides a large and rich collection of video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Alexander Street Business Education in Video - Brings together the best applied learning content to meet the educational needs of business students and instructors across the globe.
Kanopy - streaming video database where you can find a wide variety of videos. Here is an example: Sport and Performance Psychology – A series of 24 episodes.
LinkedIn Learning - Online video courses in software, technology, business and creative skills training, including 3D animation, audio and music, CAD, design, developer, education and elearning, IT, marketing, photography, video and web skills.

Here are two relevant courses available in LinkedIn Learning:

Case Studies - Peer Reviewed

Here are two Case study databases. If you need to know how to analyse a case study, refer to the Analysing case studies section on the Master of Business library guide.

Emerald Case Studies - Database

Case studies focus on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets. Case writers work in or closely with developing economies, offering local perspectives with global appeal. All cases have teaching notes as standard. The Case Journal is the official journal of The CASE Association and the leading, online, double-blind, peer-reviewed journal featuring factual teaching cases and case exercises spanning the full spectrum of business and management disciplines.

SAGE Business Cases - Database

A digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs – providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to authoritative cases from many countries. Curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.Please contact the College Librarian (Business), Lou Connell, for access to the teaching notes.

Case studies in sport management - Journal Title

What is peer review?

When an article is published in a peer-reviewed or refereed journal, it indicates that that article has been through a formal review process. It has been read by experts in the subject field before being accepted for publication. This ensures the information in the article is well-researched, and contributes to the knowledge of the subject area.

Tips for finding academic journal articles

There are two ways to find online journal articles:

Library Search

Select the "Journal articles" button on the Find Library Resources box and enter your search terms. From the results list, you can limit your search results to "Full Text", and further refine your search by publication date or limit to peer-reviewed articles.

There is a video on this page to lead you through the process.

How to find a journal article on Library Search

Specific Database Search

Select your database from the alphabetical listing, or browse by subject to find a relevant database. Enter your keywords and refine your search as required. If you are accessing online resources off-campus, you will need to enter your MyVU login and password when prompted.

There is a video on this page to lead you through the process:.

How to find a journal article on a library database

And specific database videos available via the VU Library Vimeo channel:

SRMO database

Having trouble finding information about different qualitative and quantitative methodologies? Sage Research Methods Online :SRMO is the answer! From first year students up to PhD level and beyond SRMO explains the different research methodologies and provides articles and book chapters about their implementation. Find SRMO under 'S' on the Library A-Z Databases page or click here: SRMO.