AHE1101 Structural Kinesiology: Databases & Journals

What is a scholarly or academic journal and how to check for peer reviewed articles?

Watch the following video to learn what is a scholarly or academic journal and what is a journal database. In addition, the video explains the peer review process and how to check if the journal is peer-reviewed or not.

Scholarly or Academic Journal and Databases from Victoria University Library on Vimeo.

Newpapers

Current (and sometimes local) information but not peer-reviewed

  • ANZ NEWSSTREAM - ANZ Newsstand contains articles from Australian and New Zealand national and regional newspapers. The coverage begins in 1996. 
  • International Newsstream provides full-text international and Australian news content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites. Searches worldwide newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, The Daily Telegraph, and Asian Wall Street Journal. Includes Australia & New Zealand Newsstream which searches Australian newspapers like The Age, Herald Sun, and The Advertiser.
  • The Conversation - The Conversation contains news and views from academic and research communities.

Video databases

  • Alexander Street Counseling - the library subscribes to several streaming video databases where you can find real-life examples and interviews of responses to health issues. Here is an example of a video collection available through the Alexander Street Counseling database - counseling & therapy.
  • Kanopy - streaming video database where you can find health and fitness-related videos. Here is an example - everyday health
  • LinkedIn Learning - Online video courses in software, technology and creative skills training, including presentation and communications skills, 3D animation, education and e-learning, IT, marketing, photography, video and web skills.

Different access to peer-reviewed journal articles

Rather than searching ALL the library resources, you can choose to search in ONE of the databases. Remember to limit your search results to peer-reviewed (or refereed) articles.

SRMO database

Having trouble finding information about different qualitative and quantitative methodologies? Sage Research Methods Online: SRMO is the answer! From first-year students up to PhD level and beyond SRMO explains the different research methodologies and provides articles and book chapters about their implementation. Find SRMO under 'S' on the Library databases page or click here: SRMO.