This page provides information on getting started on your research and keyword searching strategies.
This guide provides resources for your research and literature reviews.
You will need to use a variety of keywords to ensure you cover all aspects of the topic and apply the following strategies to combine them
View the videos in this guide to learn how to search for books, eBooks and journal articles available at Victoria University Library.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Below are links to some of the online reference resources.
Note, you can right-click on the title and select the "open link in new tab' option to view the reference book in a separate tab.
Dictionary of Sport Psychology by
Dictionary of Sport Psychology: Sport, Exercise, and Performing Arts is a comprehensive reference with hundreds of concise entries across sports, martial arts, exercise and fitness, performing arts and cultural sport psychology. This dictionary uses a global approach to cover philosophical and cultural backgrounds, theory, methodology, education and training and fields of application. Each entry includes phenomenon, subject description and definition, related theory and research, practice and application across sports and related performance domains. An authoritative, balanced and accessible presentation of the state-of-the-art in key subject areas, this dictionary is a must-have reference for anyone studying or practicing sport psychology. Provides a diverse cultural perspective to ensure the broadest coverage of internationalization Covers a broad scope of terms and concepts Includes extended performance domains, such as music, dance, theater arts and the circus Utilizes an alphabetical approach so entries are easily found and quickly referenced Contains entries written by leading researchers and scholars across the globe
The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies by
′...a welcome addition to the literature in the rapidly expanding field of sports studies. It is up to date, comprehensive, and well and clearly written. Though primarily sociological in its orientation, it will help students -postgraduate and undergraduate alike and their teachers as well - to establish connections between the various sub-disciplines and guide them to sources which will enable them to probe issues more deeply... It is a beautifully crafted book and is sure to be a hit with students and their teachers. It would not surprise me in the least, however, if it appealed to sports lovers more generally... It is a tour de force and I recommend it unreservedly′ - Eric Dunning, Professor in Sociology, The Centre for the Sociology of Sport, University of Leicester Sports studies is one of the fastest growing fields in higher education today. The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies brings a timely, much-needed and comprehensive tool for all students in this multi-disciplinary field. Each entry provides a basic definition, a guide to research themes and a clear account of the relevance of the concept in understanding sport. Not only indispensable for quick clarification of terms, it will give students a springboard for more in-depth research and critical analysis. It offers: " Cross referencing to assist critical thinking " A list of key readings for each entry " Expert definitions drawn from sociology, history, psychology, economics, management and business, politics and policy, physical education and health, and research methods. " Concise, student-friendly and authoritative entries. Covering sociology, history, psychology, politics, business, physical education, health and research methods, The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies provides the first one-stop reference guide for all students who study the social aspects of sport.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by
How do athletes overcome fears, slumps, mental blocks, or injuries? How do they deal with stress and anxiety, be it from competitors, teammates, audiences, parents, coaches, or themselves? What psychological techniques prove effective in mental training for peak performance, maintaining concentration, motivation, and competitive drive? How can an athlete enhance his or her commitment to a training regimen, or how might the average person better adhere to a program of fitness and exercise? Readers will find answers to these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology.Features & Benefits: Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings. From personal factors to situational factors influencing performance to specific psychological techniques for enhancing performance, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the field via approximately 350 to 400 signed entries. Entries conclude with cross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students further in their research journey. Available in print and online, this monumental work is edited by two leading figures in the field with a distinguished international Editorial Advisory Board to select and assign entries, ensuring authoritative content readers can trust.Key Themes: Career Transition Certification, Credentialing, and Roles of Sport and Exercise Psychologists Disability Emotion Exercise Health Group Dynamics History and Foundation Leadership Morality, Aggression, and Ethics in Sport Motivation Motor Control Perception and Cognition in Sport Personality and Psychological Characteristics in Sport Psychobiology Psychological Skills/Interventions Psychosociocultural Self-Concept/Self-Perceptions, and Identity Youth Sport
Sport and Exercise Psychology: the Key Concepts by
Now including exercise psychology terms for the first time in itsnbsp;second edition, Sport and Exercise Psychology: The Key Concepts offers a highly accessible introduction to this fascinating subject, its central theories and state-of-the-art research. Over 300 alphabetically-ordered entries cover such diverse terms as: adherence aggression emotion exercise dependence home advantage kinesiphobia left-handedness motivation retirement self-confidence. Cross-referenced, with suggestions for further reading and a full index, this latest key guide contains invaluable advice on the psychology of sport and exercise. A comprehensive A-Z guide to a fast-moving field of inquiry, this book is an essential resource for scholars, coaches, trainers, journalists, competitors, exercisers; in fact anyone associated with sport and exercise.
Victoria University and the VU Library provides a wide range of support services for researchers.
Find out more at: https://www.vu.edu.au/researchers
The Researcher Development Program provides a wide range of training including classes on preparing a literature review.
Research Ambassadors offer peer-researcher support and training programs.
EndNote is a reference management tool that helps you to save and manage bibliographic references.
Mendeley is a free online referencing system that you can use on the web and on your desktop. You can create your own fully searchable reference library, cite as you write and read and annotate your PDFs.