Library Guides: Bachelor of Information Technology: Databases & journals

Locating Information Technology literature

Search for journal articles and video content in the Information Technology databases as provided below. Many of these databases contain full-text journal articles (largely peer-reviewed or refereed), primary original research sources, and reference works.

ACM Digital Library Content includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and proceedings since 1985. Full-text is available for most articles.
ClickView A video platform with access to thousands of the best educational videos from renowned content providers.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete CASC covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,900 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 840 periodicals.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (Ebsco)
IEEE Xplore
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect contains many peer reviewed journals with fulltext content. You can view, print and download full-text articles. This database also covers areas in science, technology, medicine, the social sciences and business.
Scopus
Web Of Science Core Collection

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Online video courses in software, technology, business and creative skills training, including 3D animation, audio and music, CAD, design, developer, education and elearning, IT, marketing, photography, video and web skills.

Searching for journal articles

You can find online journal articles in two ways.

Select the "Journal articles" button on the Library search box and enter your search terms.
Limit your search results to "Full Text".
You can further refine your search by publication date and if required, limit to peer-reviewed articles.
Need more help?

You can also use databases to find journal articles.
Select your database from the alphabetical listing, or browse by subject to find a relevant database.
Enter your keywords and refine your search as required.
Need more help?

If you are accessing online resources off-campus, you will need to enter your student number and library PIN when prompted.

Online training and video tutorials on LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) is an outstanding resource offering a variety of online courses for video-based learning in a wide variety of subjects, including information technology, CAD, design 3D animation, audio, multimedia, coding, and others.

The Technology library offers current and aspiring technology professionals deep coverage of the platforms, applications, and programming languages that are driving economic growth around the globe. Courses cover a wide range of in-demand skills—cloud computing, full-stack web development, DevOps, networking, cybersecurity, data science, AI, and more.

LinkedIn Learning

Victoria University Library subscribes to the O'Reilly Online, a digital library that provides access to many books on technology, IT, web development, mobile apps, entrepreneurship, UX/IA, project management, business strategy, digital media, graphic design, engineering, maths, statistics, and many other topics. The platform also contains access to more than 30 000 hours of video, as well as interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audiobooks.

O'Reilly

Library Guides

Bachelor of Information Technology: Databases & journals

Locating Information Technology literature

Searching for journal articles

Online training and video tutorials on LinkedIn Learning

What is a scholarly or academic journal and how to check for peer review articles?