Bachelor of Information Technology: Cyber Security

Searching for journal articles

You can find online journal articles in two ways.

Select the "Journal articles" button on the Library search box and enter your search terms.
Limit your search results to "Full Text".
You can further refine your search by publication date and if required, limit to peer-reviewed articles.
Need more help?

You can also use databases to find journal articles.
Select your database from the alphabetical listing, or browse by subject to find a relevant database.
Enter your keywords and refine your search as required.
Need more help?

Related library guides

Cyber Security Training Centre at St Albans Campus

The Cyber Security Training Centre located at St Albans campus provide a simulated working environment for collaboration and practical experience in preparing the cyber security students for the unpredictable future of work.

Attack and defend rooms allow students to put their skills to the test and take on a hacker or a defender's role.

Cyber Security Weekly Podcast

Without trust, society stagnates, economies decline, and businesses fail. This podcast series keeps abreast of the latest trends and challenges in cyber and physical security with interviews, event updates, industry suppliers & government initiatives.

Anatomy of an attack

Cyber security

Cybersecurity is the technologies and processes designed to protect computers, networks, and data from unauthorized access, vulnerabilities, and attacks delivered via the internet by cybercriminals.

(Webopedia 2021)

Cyber, a prefix that implies a relationship with information technology (IT), relates to all aspects of computing, including storing, protecting, accessing, processing, transmitting and linking data. The word ‘cyber’ has become one of the most pervasive concepts in modern computing and technology, however, it is not present as a concept in the early 1980s and 1990s.

Cyber is typically used as a prefix of a compound word and can be written as one word (cybersecurity), two words (cyber security), or as a hyphenated word (cyber-security). For consistency, all examples will be two words (cyber crime, cyber security, cyber attack, and so on).

Locating cyber security literature

Search for Cyber Security journal articles and video content in the databases as provided below. Many of these databases contain full-text journal articles (largely peer-reviewed or refereed), primary original research sources, and reference works. 

Online training and video tutorials on LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) is an outstanding resource offering a variety of online courses for video-based learning in a wide variety of subjects, including information technology, CAD, design 3D animation, audio, multimedia, coding, and others.

Learn what forms cyber attacks can take, as well as the two most common types of protection you can build into your system: antivirus protection and firewalls, through the 'Cybersecurity for IT Professionals Online Class' on LinkedIn Learning database.

Learn how to set a rock-solid foundation for your network, users, and data by learning the basics of cybersecurity through 'Cybersecurity Foundations' tutorial.

Suggested reading

Latest news on cyber security

Loading ...