NEF1204 Introduction to Engineering Design: Design Challenge: Heat Sink Design

Library Journal Article Resources

Key Search Terms

 Key terms relevant to the challenge

heat sinks

heat transfer process

heat sink design cooling
thermal profile cooling performance
thermal design thermal measurement
heat conduction thermal analysis
heat exchangers thermal imaging

 

Overview of Activity

You will design and evaluate a heat sink with the purpose of enhancing the convective cooling a hot plate. Evaluation of the cooling performance will be done by a thermal imaging camera and a computer.

Specific requirements

The heat sink must be designed and made by using the provided material.

Sustainable design

A high rate of cooling measured over a time frame of 5 minutes with the minimal use of the material will win the challenge.​

Relevant Library Books

 

Click on the image and be led for search results on 'heat sink design' published in the last 10 years.

MATLAB Resource

Heat Transfer video

Databases

Databases are collections of articles that are published on a regular basis in journals covering a specific subject areas.These full-text databases would be the most useful for your challenge. Use combinations of the Key Terms listed on this page to search for more article resources.

For a more complex database search you could use a citation database. This lists titles, authors and abstracts. There is no full-text within this database but there are links provided to search for full-text.

How to find a journal article in a Library Database

Handbooks, encyclopedias, manuals, dictionaries