Economic and Financial Data: Stock Prices

Introduction

This page provides information where you can find and download stock prices. 

Databases

Eikon with Datastream   

The EIKON with Datastream database is located at the City Campus Library on PC SCCITSLIB-37. This PC is only available to Eikon with Datastream users and not available to students/staff for other PC bookings. It is advisable you book the PC http://mypc.library.vu.edu.au/cire/login.aspx  Before using the database, do the training:

https://training.refinitiv.com/eikon/

https://training.refinitiv.com/datastream/

Other VU Library databases that may provide you with the information you require. For example:.

Orbis (Bureau van Dijk) will provide you with detailed time series company information.

Business Source Complete will provide you with company information, company profiles, industry reports, financial data, country reports, market research reports, investment research reports and SWOT analysis.

Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Web-based resources

Yahoo Finance https://au.finance.yahoo.com/

  • market information with share price activity including the 52 week high and low
  • company information i.e. financial information including key financial ratios, ratio comparison reports and full balance sheets. Search by company name, by code or industry.
  • company news
  • company activities
  • company ownership, top officers and executives including key developments
  • income statements and cash flow statements.

For historical prices, you can download the data into a MS Excel file that may include date, open price, high price, low price, close price, trading volume and adjusted for dividend and split close price. The date range and the frequency of data can be set i.e. daily, weekly and  monthly. 

Through the Yahoo Finance website you cannot download the data for more than one company at the same time. Fortunately, Stata users can do this through two commands fetchyahooquotes and fetchyahookeystats. 

See Dicle and Levendis. 2011. Importing financial data. The Stata Journal, Vol. 11, Number 4, pp. 620-626. 

How to access company information via Yahoo Finance i.e. current and historical share prices, 52 week high and low, financials etc.

  • Type in the search box the name or ASX ticker symbol of the company you are researching.

 

  • Click on the Summary tab. Here you will find a snapshot of your company’s current share price, previous close price and the volume of shares traded.

How to find the historical share prices for a company

  • Click on the historical data tab to find historical share prices of your company. You can search for share prices by time period. Enter tracking period dates.

 

How to find the 52 week high and low for a company

  • Click on the Statistics tab find the 52 week high and low of your company.

How to find information about your company 

  • Click on Profile to access information about your company i.e. description of your company, executive directors, Financials.