Introduction

This page provides information where one can find and download financial statements data. Financial statements consists of statement of financial position (the balance sheet), income statement (the profit and loss statement), cash flow statement and statement in changes in equity. Notes to financial statements and management discussion and analysis are integral parts of the financial statements. 

Databases

Eikon with Datastream  

This database is available at the City Library campus level 2.
For training videos go to the Refinitiv site

https://training.refinitiv.com/eikon/

https://training.refinitiv.com/datastream/

Other VU Library databases that may provide you with the information you require. For example:

Orbis (Bureau van Dijk) will provide you with detailed time series company information.

Business Source Complete will provide you with company information, company profiles, industry reports, financial data, country reports, market research reports, investment research reports and SWOT analysis.

Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

​Orbis Bureau van Dijk 

Orbis provide comprehensive data and information on companies around the world either private, listed and listed companies. Mint Global and Orbis are products of Bureau van Dijk. They are essentially similar; however, Mint Global is claimed to have enhanced end-user interface designed for end user and desktop access. 

For each company, Orbis provides data on:

• Contact information
• Legal and account information
• Size and group information
• Industry and overview
• Industry research
• Financial data
  • Key financials and employees
  • Global standard format
  • Detail format
  • Cash flow statement
  • Global ratios
  • Footnote to financials
  • Accounting practises
• Legal events
• Segment data
• Customer and competitors
• Future outlook
• Stock data
• Earnings estimates and broker recommendations
• Directors and managers
• Auditors
• Ownership data
• Royalty agreements, patents and trademarks
• News and deals
• Peer reports

Data can be exported into a MS Excel file. Original documents e.g. annual reports, can also be downloaded.

 Orbis also provides some analysis such as segmentation, peer analysis, aggregation, concentration analysis and regression analysis.

See Orbis (Bureau van Dijk)  Database for Our Research for a step-by-step  guide how to download data from Orbis

Web-based Resources

Yahoo Finance

Related to financial statement data, Yahoo Finance provides following data and information:

• Summary
• Key financial data
  • Valuation measures
  • Profitability
  • Management effectiveness
• Income statement
• Balance sheet
• Cash flow

To see the data for a company, first one needs to find a company name or symbol in a Look Up box. The data cannot be downloaded into a MS Excel format even though it is still possible to copy and paste the data tables into a MS Excel.  Fortunately, Stata users can do this through two commands: fetchyahooquotes and fetchyahookeystats.

See Dicle and Levendis. 2011. Importing financial data. The Stata Journal, Vol. 11, Number 4, pp. 620-626.