Library Guides: Bachelor of Nutritional Science/Master of Dietetics; Bachelor of Human Nutrition: Searching Databases

Resources to support the VU Bachelor of Nutritional Science & Master of Dietetics courses

Tips for finding articles

Useful databases

MEDLINE (EBSCOHost)
Provides access to medical research across all biomedical and health fields, including allied health.

CINAHL Complete
Premium database for nursing and allied health disciplines, including nutrition and dietetics.

PEN
Information about dietetics, developed from key practice questions and evidence-based answers. Knowledge pathways are grouped under Population Health/Lifecycle, Health Condition/Disease, Food/Nutrients and Professional Practice.

Consumer Health Database
Covers a range of subjects in the broad area of public health - from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.

Health & Medical Collection
Integrates clinical research from ProQuest Medical Library with consumer health and health administration resources, covering key healthcare disciplines such as biomedicine, nursing, immunology, pharmacy, and surgery, and includes charts, diagrams, and photos to support medical research.

Health Collection
Provides full-text access to Australasian health information, including research articles, reports, and case studies for those in therapeutic, diagnostic, and preventative health roles.

Academic Search Elite
Offers full-text access to journals covering subjects such as social sciences, humanities, and natural sciences. It also provides indexing, abstracts, and video content from the Associated Press.

How can you tell if a journal is peer eviewed?

UlrichsWeb is the authoritative source to go to if you want to find out if a journal is peer reviewed or not.
In UlrichsWeb, type in your journal title. If the journal name has an icon like a little black and white striped referee shirt , the journal is peer reviewed.

Ulrichsweb
Provides essential serials bibliographic and access information that ranges from subscription rates to the latest web sites.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides access to full-text articles to which Victoria University subscribes and to articles made freely available by the publisher. Use Advanced Scholar Search options by clicking on the hamburger icon () in the upper left corner of the search page.

Fulltext journal articles and research papers can be retrieved by clicking on the "Find Fulltext @ VU Library" link when it appears to the right of your search results. This will happen automatically while on campus but may need to be set up as "Library Links" under Scholar Settings to work from off-site.