The Library collection includes both print and electronic books (e-books). Search for print books and e-books via Library Search. Print books can be requested from any campus of Victoria University Library.
The library provides access to electronic books (e-books) for VU students and staff. You can link through to these from the library website and read them online. You will also be able to download some books for a set time to read.
These e-books are accessed through different companies and each will have different restrictions about downloading and printing. Further information is available on the Library website or read the information and watch the video on this page to learn about accessing and downloading e-books.
Clinical Nutrition by
This second edition of Clinical Nutrition, in the acclaimed textbook series by the Nutrition Society, has been revised and updated in order to: Provide students with the required scientific basis in nutrition, in the context of a systems and health approach. Enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. Each chapter identifies the key areas of knowledge that must be understood and also the key points of critical thought that must accompany the acquisition of this knowledge. Are fully peer reviewed to ensure completeness and clarity of content, as well as to ensure that each book takes a global perspective and is applicable for use by nutritionists and on nutrition courses throughout the world. Ground breaking in scope and approach, with an additional chapter on nutritional screening and a student companion website, this second edition is designed for use on nutrition courses throughout the world and is intended for those with an interest in nutrition in a clinical setting. Covering the scientific basis underlying nutritional support, medical ethics and nutritional counselling, it focuses solely on the sick and metabolically compromised patient, dealing with clinical nutrition on a system by system basis making the information more accessible to the students. This is an essential purchase for students of nutrition and dietetics, and also for those students who major in other subjects that have a nutrition component, such as food science, medicine, pharmacy and nursing. Professionals in nutrition, dietetics, food sciences, medicine, health sciences and many related areas will also find this an important resource. Libraries in universities, medical schools and establishments teaching and researching in the area of nutrition will find Clinical Nutrition a valuable addition to their shelves.
Food Advertising by
This book provides an up-to-date and comprehensive review and critique of the scientific evidence concerning the prevalence, nature and potential effects of food advertising and other forms of marketing on children. There is growing international concern about the prevalence of childhood obesity and associated health problems. Poor quality diet and nutrition has been blamed. The food and soft drinks industries have been targeted in this context for their promotions of foods and drinks that are high in salt, sugar and fat content. Many of the most widely promoted and consumed food brands fail to meet recommended nutritional standards. What is the evidence for the effects of food promotions on children's food preferences, diets and health? This book draws on evidence from around the world, reviewing the major studies before presenting a fresh assessment of the state of play. It considers also the issue of food regulation and advertising codes of practices, the need for better and relevant consumer education and socialisation about advertising and nutrition.
Handbook of Food Chemistry by
This handbook is intended to be a comprehensive reference for the various chemical aspects of foods and food products. Apart from the traditional knowledge, this book covers the most recent research and development of food chemistry in the areas of functional foods and nutraceuticals, organic and genetically modified foods, nonthermal food processing as well as nanotechnology. This handbook contains both the basic and advanced chemistry both for food research and its practical applications in various food related industries and businesses.
Human Nutrition by
The field of human nutrition has expanded hugely in recent years, to now encompass topics as diverse as nutritional genomics and food security. As appreciation for the importance of nutrition to human health and well-being grows, an understanding of the many aspects of the subject has neverbeen more important. Written by a renowned team of international experts, Human Nutrition provides an authoritative, comprehensive resource for students of human nutrition and other health sciences, and a valuable source of information for everybody working in nutrition and related fields. The text opens with an exploration of the chemical characteristics of foods and nutrients, before moving on to discuss the physiology of food nutrition, micronutrients, and dietary requirements for different sections of the population. The text concludes with an assessment of the evidence base for alink between nutrient intake and disease risk, and a review of the broad discipline of public health nutrition.Online Resource Centre:The Online Resource Centre to accompany Human Nutrition features:Student Resources: * Auto-marked multiple choice questions to accompany each chapter* Curated links to online sources of further information* "In depth" panels: extended coverage of topics included in the bookLecturer Resources: * Figures from the book: available to download for use in lectures
Introduction to Food Science and Food Systems by
The book explores the foundations of the food industry, from nutrition and chemistry to processing and safety, and delves into some of the most pressing foodborne issues of our day. Laced with full-color images, drawings, charts, and graphs, chapters deliver the latest information on genetically engineered foods, environmental concerns and sustainability, food needs of the world, the impacts of food on health, and more.
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics by
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics is the must have practical resource for dietitians, nutritionists and students working with both well settled but also recently migrated ethnic groups. Written by a team of authors drawn from the British Dietetic Association's Specialist Multicultural Nutrition Group the book provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.
Nutritional Sciences by
Crystal Clear Science + Compelling Applications = A Balanced Program for Teaching and LearningNow updated with the 2015 Dietary Guidelines for Americans, NUTRITIONAL SCIENCES: FROM FUNDAMENTALS TO FOOD, 3rd Enhanced Edition clearly explains the scientific principles underlying nutrition while incorporating applications to promote a complete understanding of core concepts. This integrated approach provides a strong science foundation in a context relevant to students' daily lives and their careers. Supported by an impressive visual design, engaging case studies and interactive digital resources, NUTRITIONAL SCIENCES offers a unique, balanced program for teaching and learning.
Nutrition in Public Health by
This second edition of a bestseller, Nutrition in Public Health: Principles, Policies, and Practicefocuses on the role of the federal government in determining nutrition policy and influencing practice. Beginning with an overview of public health principles, the book examines the application of nutritional policy to dietary guidance, health promotion, and the practice of public health nutrition. Highlights of New Coverage in the Second Edition: Legislation such as Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010; Agricultural Act of 2014 (Farm Bill); and proposals for the next Farm Bill Discussions of study designs, the SEED-SCALE model for health promotion, health disparities and health equity, worksite wellness, Let''s Move!, and other initiatives Impact of the ACA on menu labeling policies, the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Act, and legislation regarding breastfeeding Examination of health disparities, demographic trends, and health literacy; sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression; and the role of social media in tailored health communications 2010 Dietary Guidelines with analysis of potential upcoming changes in 2015 Dietary Guidelines, Healthy Eating Index 2010, MyPlate, and Harvard Healthy Eating Plate Best Bones Forever! Campaign, text messaging for tailored health communication, and 4 Day Throw Away study assessing the use of social media for education regarding food safety The book explores the importance of nutrition as a component of the broad field of public health. The authors review the principles of public health nutrition, examining nutritional epidemiology and programs that deal with health disparities, weight control challenges, and the needs of special populations. The text addresses the practice of public health nutrition through tools for conducting a food and nutrition assessment of a community, designing and carrying out a social marketing campaign, and developing large and small grant proposals. Nutrition in Public Healthprovides an integrated view of nutrition needs and the policies and political mechanisms that affect the delivery of quality food and nutrition services. It gives students a thorough understanding of the federal government''s role in determining nutrition policy and influencing practice. p;lt;LI>Examination of health disparities, demographic trends, and health literacy; sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression; and the role of social media in tailored health communications 2010 Dietary Guidelines with analysis of potential upcoming changes in 2015 Dietary Guidelines, Healthy Eating Index 2010, MyPlate, and Harvard Healthy Eating Plate Best Bones Forever! Campaign, text messaging for tailored health communication, and 4 Day Throw Away study assessing the use of social media for education regarding food safety The book explores the importance of nutrition as a component of the broad field of public health. The authors review the principles of public health nutrition, examining nutritional epidemiology and programs that deal with health disparities, weight control challenges, and the needs of special populations. The text addresses the practice of public health nutrition through tools for conducting a food and nutrition assessment of a community, designing and carrying out a social marketing campaign, and developing large and small grant proposals. Nutrition in Public Healthprovides an integrated view of nutrition needs and the policies and political mechanisms that affect the delivery of quality food and nutrition services. It gives students a thorough understanding of the federal government''s role in determining nutrition policy and influencing practice. food and nutrition assessment of a community, designing and carrying out a social marketing campaign, and developing large and small grant proposals. Nutrition in Public Healthprovides an integrated view of nutrition needs and the policies and political mechanisms that affect the delivery of quality food and nutrition services. It gives students a thorough understanding of the federal government''s role in determining nutrition policy and influencing practice.
