A new approach to making everyday criminal justice terms accessible   A useful reference work for faculty and students, criminal justice professionals, writers, and anyone else interested in criminal justice and criminology, The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice, Second Edition, is an excellent, wide-ranging resource with clear definitions for over 3,000 key criminal justice terms.

This UK-focused dictionary provides clear definitions of legal and specialist terminology encountered in law enforcement. From bail and buccal swab to self-defence and sham marriage, it is a wide-ranging dictionary covering terms from the areas of criminology, psychology, pathology, forensic medicine, and financial investigation.

The Australian Law Dictionary is a key reference for those who need familiarity with, and a comprehensive knowledge of Australian legal terms.Designed specifically for students, the ALD uses clear and concise language and explores the terms encountered in everyday practice, focusing on core legal knowledge and practice areas.

This publication serves as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.

Comprehensive and balanced coverage of: Concepts and theories Correction Law Crimes Methods and statistics National surveys Organizations Police science Social and cultural context.

The Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice provides more than 200 up-to-date, concise, and readable entries in a single, authoritative volume.

This encyclopedia covers both murder and violent crime in their variant forms. Included are biographies, chronologies, special interest inset boxes, up to 100 photographs, comprehensive article bibliographies, and appendices for items such as famous unsolved cases, celebrity murders, assasinations, original source documents, and online sources for information.

The Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention provides a comprehensive reference work bringing together such dispersed knowledge as it outlines and discusses the status of victims within the criminal justice system and topics of deterring and preventing victimization in the first place and responding to victims needs.

Since the first edition was produced we have seen the largest Ponzi scheme in history (Maddoff), an ecological disaster caused by British Petroleum and its subcontractors (Gulf Oil Spill), and U.S. Defense Department contractors operating like vigilantes in Iraq (Blackwater). The Second Edition of this encyclopedia captures what has been going on in the news and behind the scenes.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Criminal Psychology is aimed at students and professionals interested in the intersection of psychology (e.g., social, forensic, clinical), criminal justice, sociology, and criminology. It includes numerous topics on criminal behavior, police psychology, crime detection and prevention, prison life, offender rehabilitation, offender mental health, and juvenile offending.

The Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention brings together in one authoritative resource the dispersed information and knowledge on both victimology and crime prevention.

The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Theory was written by a team of internationally respected specialists. It provides readers with a clear overview of criminological theory, enabling them to reflect critically upon the variety of theoretical positions - traditional, emergent and desirable - that are constitutive of the discipline at the beginning of the twenty-first century.

An indispensable resource for all levels, this handbook provides up-to-date, in-depth summaries of the most important theories in criminology.

The Oxford Handbook of Crime and Public Policy offers a comprehensive examination of crimes as public policy subjects. It presents a wide-ranging overview and analysis of violent and sexual crimes, property crimes, transactional crimes, transnational crimes, and crimes against morality.

The volume is organized not around schools of thought but around themes that shape much thinking about and research on crime. This more unconventional approach seeks to show that criminological theory is not static but dynamic. This Oxford Handbook presents a series of essays that captures not the past of criminology, but where theoretical explanation is headed.

The Routledge Handbook of International Crime and Justice Studies presents the enduring debates and emerging challenges in crime and justice studies from an international and multi-disciplinary perspective. Guided by the pivotal, although vastly under-examined, role that consumerism, politics, technology, and culture assume in shaping these debates and in organizing these challenges, individual chapters probe the global landscape of crime and justice with astonishing clarity and remarkable depth.

21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook provides straightforward and definitive overviews of 100 key topics comprising traditional criminology and its modern outgrowths. The individual chapters have been designed to serve as a "first-look" reference source for most criminological inquires.

Crime and Criminal Behavior delves into such hotly debated topics as age of consent, euthanasia and assisted suicide, gambling, guns, internet pornography, marijuana and other drug laws, religious convictions, and terrorism and extremism.

In Studying Criminology, the author explores the interplay between philosophical and criminological theories to provide a stimulating and insightful overview of the subject. It offers students a fresh way of thinking about crime, giving them an opportunity to develop their understanding and to hone their critical skills.

The Oxford Handbook of Criminal Law reflects the continued transformation of criminal law into a global discipline, providing scholars with a comprehensive international resource, a common point of entry into cutting edge contemporary research and a snapshot of the state and scope of the field.