Library Guides: Bachelor of Architectural Design: Databases & journals

Key building design and architecture databases

Full-text databases provide a set of more specific resources than the general Library Search. The term 'full-text' indicates that the full article is located in the database. There are also research citation databases that have the details of the articles but no full-text. There are many full-text databases available through VU library specific to particular Engineering disciplines. There are a couple listed below.

The Engineering Collection (ProQuest)
Multidisciplinary, multiformatted collection of thousands of books, journals, videos, [audio], news sources, dissertations, magazines, grey literature, and more.
Knovel
Knovel is a key source of technical information for engineers and scientists from authoritative sources. It contains an extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from many different publishers, including reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases.
AccessEngineering (McGraw Hill)
AccessEngineering is an interactive engineering reference and teaching platform that provides students with the tools they need to learn and apply solutions to real-world problems, as well as help them prepare for exams and certifications. It is built for learners and educators alike.
EBSCOHost Research Databases
Select multiple databases: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, eBook Academic Collection, GreenFile.
Arts & Humanities Database
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
ARCH (Australian Architecture Database)
ARCH is available on Informit as an archive database with coverage from 1980-2015.
Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, with coverage from 1895 - 2005.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Provides access to high-quality, peer-reviewed free open access scholarly journals in different subjects, including arts and architecture.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect contains many peer reviewed journals with full-text content. This database covers areas in science, technology, medicine, the social sciences, and business.
Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It covers topics in engineering, chemistry, physics, mathematics, earth and environmental sciences, agricultural and biological sciences, health, life sciences, social science, psychology, economics, business and management. Advances features include tracking and analysis tools for identifying cited references, authors and publications.
Australian Building Codes Board
Previously known as the Building Code of Australia, it provides the minimum regulatory requirements for all building work in Australia. Register freely with the Australian Buildings Codes Board (ABCB) for the access to the National Construction Codes (NCC).
SpringerLink
A full-text database for journals and books published by Springer. A broad range of science and technology related areas including Architecture and Design.
Australian Heritage Bibliography
Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB) provides access to information on Australia's natural and cultural environment, including national parks, endangered species, wilderness areas, important historical and archaeological sites, historic buildings, structures and towns.
Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design (CumInCAD)
Includes bibliographic information about over 12,300 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, ASCAAD, CAADRIA, eCAADe,SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others.
ICE Virtual Library
O'Reilly
O'Reilly Media produces books and online learning content to help professionals learn best practices and stay on top of emerging trends shaping the future. It translates highly technical information into readable and usable formats like books, digital media, e-learning and events.

Key building design and architecture journals

Journal of Architectural Engineering

Architecture Australia

Architect Victoria

Architectural Design

Green Magazine: Sustainable Architecture and Landscaping Design

Architectural Engineering and Design Management

Architecture and Culture

The Architects' journal

Architect

Architectural Engineering and Design Management

Buildings

Building Design

Building Design & Construction

Building Sustainable Design

CTBUH Journal: Tall Buildings, Design, Construction and Operation

Environmental Design & Construction

Healthcare Design

International Journal of Architectural Research

International Journal of Architecture and Planning

Journal of Architectural Engineering

Journal of Building Performance Simulation

Residential Design & Build

Residential Systems

Journal of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Journal

Sustainable Building & Design Magazine

Sustainable Construction & Design

The Architectural Review

The Canadian Architect

The Nordic Journal of Architectural Research

The Structural Design of Tall and Special Buildings

The Structural Design of Tall Buildings

Masonry Design

Detail

O'Reilly

Victoria University Library subscribes to the O'Reilly Online, a digital library that provides access to many books on technology, IT, web development, mobile apps, entrepreneurship, UX/IA, project management, business strategy, digital media, graphic design, engineering, maths, statistics, and many other topics. The platform also contains access to more than 30 000 hours of video, as well as interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audiobooks.

O'Reilly

Library Guides

Bachelor of Architectural Design: Databases & journals

On this page

Key building design and architecture databases

Key building design and architecture journals

O'Reilly