Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- Bachelor of Dermal Sciences
- Books & eBooks
The library purchases a lot of electronic books, or e-books. You can link through to these from the library website and read them online. You will also be able to download some books for a set time and read them on your own device.
These e-books are accessed through different database providers and have different restrictions on downloading and printing. When you are accessing an e-book and you want to know more information go to the information on the library website.
For further information, refer to the e-books library guide.
Andrews' Diseases of the Skin by
Updated throughout with the latest dermatological findings and a new chapter on cosmetic surgical techniques, this title helps you keep current, improve your skills, and prepare for exams.
Cellulite: Pathophysiology and Treatment by
It is estimated that 80 percent of women have some degree of cellulite. Although there are no permanent solutions for cellulite, dermatologists recognize that this is an issue of importance for many women. This guide reviews current research on the pathophysiology and treatment of cellulite, as well as the many recent developments in medical therapy, liposculpture, and pharmacy to combat the appearance of cellulite in the female figure.
Clinical Dermatology by
Required text for HBD3104 Dermal Science 3
Dermatologic Complications with Body Art by
Body piercings, tattoos, and permanent make-up have become very popular as a fashion statement in recent decades. This book guides the reader through the world of body art. An overview is first provided of the history and epidemiology of tattoos and piercings. Subsequent chapters go on to examine in detail the materials and devices used in various forms of body art, and the techniques employed. All relevant risks and potential complications are clearly described with the aid of color illustrations. Special attention is paid to allergic reactions and the management of complications. The closing chapter examines the techniques and devices used for tattoo removal, with a particular focus on the use of different lasers.
Electrotherapy : evidence-based practice by
This popular textbook comprehensively covers the use of electrotherapy in clinical practice and includes the theory which underpins that practice. Over recent years the range of therapeutic agents involved and the scope for their use have greatly increased and the new edition includes and evaluates the latest evidence and most recent developments in this fast-growing field. Tim Watson brings years of clinical, research and teaching experience to the new edition, with a host of new contributors, all leaders in their specialty .
Handbook of Cosmetic Science and Technology by
Written by experienced and internationally renowned contributors, this is the fourth edition of what has become the standard reference for cosmetic scientists and dermatologists seeking the latest innovations and technology for the formulation, design, testing, use, and production of cosmetic products for skin, hair, and nails. New to this fourth edition are chapters on dermatocosmetic vehicles, surface film, causes and measurement of skin aging, make-up products, skin healing, cosmetics in sports, cosmetotextiles, nutricosmetics, natural ingredients, cosmeceuticals, and regulatory vigilance.
Laser Dermatology by
Required text for HBD4102 Advanced Laser 1
Also available in print at the Law library
Microbiology and infection control for health professionals by
The text presents a global overview of the challenges facing health professionals in combating the spread of infectious diseases. Where appropriate, the emphasis is placed on Australian data, the incidence of diseases in Australia, and Australian guidelines for infection control practices.
Milady Standard Esthetics by
Milady Standard Esthetics Fundamentals, 11th edition, is the essential source for basic esthetics training. This new edition builds upon Milady's strong tradition of providing students and instructors with the best beauty and wellness education tools for their future.The rapidly expanding field of esthetics has taken a dramatic leap forward in the past decade, and this up-to-date text plays a critical role in creating a strong foundation for the esthetics student. Focusing on introductory topics, including history and opportunities in skin care, anatomy and physiology, and infection control and disorders, it lays the groundwork for the future professional to build their knowledge.The reader can then explore the practical skills of a skin care professional, introducing them to the treatment environment, basic facial treatments, hair removal, and the technology likely to be performed in the salon or spa setting.
Neuroradiological imaging of skin diseases and related conditions
This book is about the various types of dermatological conditions and their imaging appearances.
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery by
Required text for HBD4201 Plastics: Aesthetics and Reconstructive Procedures.
Also available in print at the Law library
Robbins Basic Pathology by
Required text for HBD2202 Dermal Science 2
Lookingbill and Marks' Principles of Dermatology by
Intuitively organized by appearance rather than etiology, Lookingbill and Marks' Principles of Dermatology, 6th Edition, by Drs. James G. Marks, Jr. and Jeffrey J. Miller, is a concise, abundantly illustrated everyday reference for dermatologic diagnosis and therapy. It offers expert guidance and overviews of essential information in dermatology, including key points, clinical pearls, differential diagnosis, and tables of first- and second-line treatments. Superb clinical photographs, full-color histopathology images, and corresponding cross-sectional line diagrams provide details on cause and condition. Provides self-assessment case reviews to test mastery of important material, therapy options in highlighted boxes, and additional photos of uncommon presentations at the end of each chapter. Helps you arrive at an accurate differential diagnosis with numerous tables that rank skin diseases according to frequency of incidence and highlight clinical features. Features new and expanded evidence-based treatment tables to keep you up to date with fast-changing treatments in dermatology and guide you toward the best treatments for your patients. Offers new coverage of common drug eruptions, as well as the latest therapies for common, difficult-to-treat skin disorders, such as acne, psoriasis, and eczema. Includes a more diverse range of skin color patient images throughout. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas, 8th Ed by
More than 1,000 full-color photographs speed diagnosis of the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care One of the bestselling dermatology books in the world, this quick-reference clinical guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students for more than three decades. Spanning the entire spectrum of skin problems, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Eighth Edition combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment. Features: * Approximately 1083 full-color images, with more than 40% new to this edition * A color-coded 4-part organization facilitates review at a glance and includes helpful icons denoting the incidence and morbidity of the disease * ICD-10 codes are included for each disease * Thoroughly updated coverage of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy * Many images highlight skin disease in different ethnic populations If you've been looking for a unique combination text, clinical reference, and color atlas that spans the entire field of dermatology, and has been trusted by thousands of clinicians and students, your search ends here.
Human anatomy & physiology by
Visually dynamic and vibrant content. "The text has been edited to make it easier than ever to study from and navigate, with integrated objectives, new concept check questions, and a new design program".
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by
This is the latest edition of Principles of Anatomy and Physiology. The previous edition (2014) of this book is the required text for:
HBD1201 Introduction to Dermal Sciences
HBD2102 Dermal Sciences 1
HBD2202 Dermal Sciences 2
HBD3103 Chemistry for Dermal Sciences &
HBD3104 Dermal Sciences 3
Evidence-Based Dermatology 3e by
Be sure your skin-care treatments have strong evidentialsupport Evidence-based Dermatology, Third Edition takes a uniqueapproach to clinical dermatology by emphasising use of only thehighest quality available evidence when treating people with skindiseases. Beginning with a toolbox introduction to the practice ofevidence-based dermatology, it then covers the application ofevidence for dermatological treatments across a wide range ofailments, including: ? Common inflammatory skin diseases ? Skin cancer, moles and actinic keratoses ? Infective skin disease, exanthems and infestations ? Disorders of pigmentation In addition, many of the rarer skin disorders are also includedso as to provide comprehensive coverage of the topic. World-leading experts in dermatology follow a clinical approachfor each disease, and as well as providing their expert guidance onthe description and diagnosis of dermatologic disorders, they alsodiscuss common dilemmas that clinicians face when considering thebest approach to patient management. ?Key Points?accompany each chapter to provide a quick review of the mostimportant points. Clinically oriented and practically focused, Evidence-basedDermatology ensures that your treatments are entirelypatient-focused and fully supported by the very latest medicalevidence.
Evidence-based procedural dermatology by
This book compiles the best evidence in procedural dermatology, including skin cancer surgery, laser techniques, minimally invasive cosmetic surgery, and emerging techniques. Building on the highly successful first edition, this volume provides much expanded coverage of a range of topics. The best information is provided to reveal the most appropriate interventions for particular indications, optimal treatment techniques, and strategies for avoiding adverse events.
Handbook of Integrative Dermatology by
This user-friendly reference tool presents clinical scenarios and discusses some practical complementary and alternative therapies available in dermatology. It focuses on peer-reviewed data that are suitable for use in a conventional dermatology practice and helps dermatologists guide their patients when faced with questions regarding integrative dermatology using an evidence-based, reader-friendly, and case-focused approach. Within the field of dermatology, there is a marked void in the understanding of complementary and alternative approaches, though dermatologists frequently use off-label therapies to manage chronic conditions. They do so, however, with a range of success and potentially considerable side effect profiles. Handbook of Integrative Dermatology is a must-have tool for any practicing dermatologist.
