• Finding journal articles
• What are scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles?
• Professional journals (selection)
• Databases for Dermal Sciences
• Searching databases: Medline, Scopus, Australian Standards databases and Google Scholar (videos)

You can find journal articles via  Library databases. A Database is a search engine for journal articles, ebooks, book chapters, and video clips. Searching databases will save you time, as one database may search hundreds of individual journal titles simultaneously. Articles in databases are likely to contain more reliable and thoroughly researched information than the material on the Internet.  See the list of databases below to search for journal articles relevant to your studies in Dermal Science.

 Keywords or search terms can also be entered in the search box of the Library Search.

When an article is published in a peer-reviewed or refereed journal, it indicates that that article has been through a formal review process. It has been read by experts in the subject field before being accepted for publication.This ensures the information in the article is well-researched, and contributes to the knowledge of the subject area. Watch the video below for more information. 

The following are some of the journals available through the Library:

Australasian Journal of Dermatology - Publishes peer-reviewed original articles, reviews and case reports on research and clinical practice in all aspects of dermatology, including dermatopathology and mycology. Clinical presentations, medical and physical therapies, and investigations are covered in the full-length research papers and case reports.

British Journal of Dermatology - It is a "top-ranked international dermatology journal, publishing the highest-quality research to advance the understanding and management of skin disease to improve patient outcomes. The journal publishes high impact global research, including that coming from the United States and Canada."

International Journal of Dermatology - Up-to-date source of information on all aspects of the diagnosis and management of skin diseases. Accepted articles regularly cover clinical trials; education; morphology; pharmacology and therapeutics; case reports, and reviews. 

Skin Research and Technology - Clinically-oriented journal on biophysical methods and imaging techniques and how they are used in dermatology, cosmetology and plastic surgery for noninvasive quantification of skin structure and functions. 

BMC Dermatology - Includes original peer-reviewed research articles in all aspects of the prevention, diagnosis and management of skin disorders, as well as related molecular genetics, pathophysiology, and epidemiology.

Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology - The official journal of the International Academy of Cosmetic Dermatology (IACD) and the Canadian Association of Aesthetic Medicine (CAAM). Contains articles on the science and biology of healthy skin, as well as papers concerning the various clinical therapeutic techniques that maintain and enhance healthy skin.

Professional Beauty - The leading business to business magazine for the Australian aesthetics industry.

For more titles please check here.