Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- Bachelor Of Science (Osteopathy)
- Anatomy and Physiology
an@tomedia™ is a unique way to learn about the anatomy of the human body. It is a comprehensive, self-paced learning program that explores anatomy from four different perspectives. These perspectives teach you how the body is constructed (from regions and systems) and how you can deconstruct the body (with dissection and imaging techniques).
Anatomy.TV includes interactive 3D anatomy models, MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets. Videos and images can be embedded in PowerPoint Slides. Save or download images for printing. Log in to Anatomy.TV to view the online tutorials and access the User guide . See the links to the videos below to guide you in using Anatomy.TV
Image credit: Primal Pictures (2015) retrieved from: http://www.anatomy.tv/resources.aspx
How to use Primal Pictures' Anatomy.TV ( a selection of short videos)
Perceptual and Adaptive Learning Modules (PALMs), a segment of Anatomy.tv database, is a self-guided, unique and engaging tool to learn anatomy. Each body region consists of a number of images so the learning and testing can be tailored to a particular area.
To access PALMs from the VU Library homepage so to the Database A to Z link. Open Anatomy.tv and select the Perceptual and Adaptive Learning Modules link from the left hand menu. Signing in for the first time is required. Otherwise, select Log in to continue.
More information on how to use PALMs can be found here
The Thieme Teaching Assistant is a state-of-the-art presentation tool featuring all 2,000+ stunning illustrations and clinical images from Gilroy et al's Atlas of Anatomy. All users can view images, however to download images for educational and teaching purposes only, VU staff and students are required to create a personal account.
Human Sectional Anatomy by
Now in its fourth edition, this unsurpassed quality remains and is further enhanced by the addition of new material. The superb full-colour cadaver sections are compared with CT and MRI images,
McMinn and Abrahams' Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy by
ADDITIONAL COPIES ON ORDER 2021
Respected authority Prof. Peter Abrahams and his team of leading international anatomists and radiologists link a vast collection of clinical images to help you master all the essential correlations between the basic science of anatomy and its clinical practice. See what to look for and how to proceed thanks to an unsurpassed collection of labelled dissection photographs, supported by clear, explanatory diagrams and modern imaging Correlate anatomy to clinical practice with a wealth of MR, CT, DSA, radiographic, endoscopic, and operative images that demonstrate how structures are viewed today in the clinical setting Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, including: brand new dissections, to further improve clarity and consistency throughout the book in every region all new colour overlays added to selected dissections making it even easier to identify key nerves, arteries, veins and especially lymphatics fully revised neuroanatomy content reflects the latest understanding of functional neuroanatomy as seen with modern 3D and functional imaging updated and coloured and a unique lymphatics section
The Musculoskeletal System by 
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations- Musculoskeletal System Package by
"The Lower Limb and Spine," Part 2 of "The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: " "Musculoskeletal System, 2nd Edition, "provides a highly visual guide to the spine and lower extremity, from basic science and anatomy to orthopaedics and rheumatology. This spectacularly illustrated volume in the masterwork known as the (CIBA) "Green Books" has been expanded and revised by Dr. Joseph Iannotti, Dr. Richard Parker, and other experts from the Cleveland Clinic to mirror the many exciting advances in musculoskeletal medicine and imaging - offering rich insights into the anatomy, physiology, and clinical conditions of the spine; pelvis, hip, and thigh; knee; lower leg; and ankle and foot.Consult this title on your favorite e-reader with intuitive search tools and adjustable font sizes.
Seeley's Anatomy and Physiology by
Clear descriptions and exceptional illustrations combine to help students develop a firm understanding of the concepts of anatomy and physiology and to teach them how to use that information. Great care has been taken to select important concepts and to perfectly describe the anatomy of cells, organs, and organ systems. The plan that has been followed for ten editions of this popular text is to combine clear and accurate descriptions of anatomy with precise explanations of how structures function and examples of how they work together to maintain life. To emphasize the concepts of anatomy and physiology, the authors provide explanations of how the systems respond to aging, changes in physical activity, and disease, with a special focus on homeostasis and the regulatory mechanisms that maintain it.
