Library Guides: Bachelor Of Science (Osteopathy): Databases and journals

What are scholarly or academic journals and databases?

This video will explain what a scholarly or academic journal is and what is a journal database. In addition, the video explains the peer review process and how you check the article is peer-reviewed.

Journals - Osteopathy

Chiropractic & Manual Therapies Chiropractic & Manual Therapies is an open access journal that publishes manuscripts on all aspects of evidence-based information that is clinically relevant to chiropractors, manual therapists and related health care professionals
Clinical Biomechanics Clinical biomechanics is a peer-reviewed international multidisciplinary journal of musculoskeletal biomechanics.
International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine An official journal of: General Osteopathic Council (UK) and Osteopathy Australia. The International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine is a peer-reviewed journal that provides for the publication of high quality research articles and review papers that are as broad as the many disciplines that influence and underpin the principles and practice of osteopathic medicine. Particular emphasis is given to basic science research, clinical epidemiology and health social science in relation to osteopathy and neuromusculoskeletal medicine.
Journal of the American Osteopathic Association The Journal of the American Osteopathic Association (JAOA) is the official scientific publication of the American Osteopathic Association. A peer-reviewed publication it includes original research, clinically relevant medical findings, and recommendations for osteopathic medical education.

How can you tell if a Journal is PEER REVIEWED?

UlrichsWeb is the authoritative source to go to if you want to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed or not.
Once you have accessed UlrichsWeb, type in your journal title. If the journal name has an icon like a little black and white striped referee shirt , the journal is peer-reviewed.

Databases

From the Library homepage click on 'Databases A-Z' link. Scroll down to 'All subjects' and from the drop-down menu select the 'Health and medical sciences' link.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Includes six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, as well as information about Cochrane groups.
Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window Search for full-text eBooks and instructional streaming videos on fitness, kinesiology, exercise, coaching, and sports. Subject coverage includes active aging, biomechanics, physiology, physical activity and health, sport psychology, nutrition, and sports management.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window Covers areas of Sport & Exercise Science, Nursing, Medical Physiology, and Health Services. This resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, such as Dutton’s Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention. It includes procedure and exercise videos, PT lecture series, image galleries, self-assessment tools, such as NPTE review assessments, and a unique cadaver dissection tool. Clinical Sports Medicine contents are now available via AccessPhysiotherapy, including Brukner & Khan's clinical sports medicine, Volumes 1&2.

Key databases

CINAHL complete provides full text and covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Click here to access the CINAHL complete database

MEDLINE with Full-Text is a tool for medical research providing full-text for top-tier medical journals. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

Click here to access the MEDLINE with full-text database

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.

How to search PubMed

The VU Library subscribes to many medical and health databases on the ProQuest One Academic platform. When you access the ProQuest database, you are automatically searching multiple databases' content simultaneously. This includes journals, videos, eBooks and dissertations. You can also focus your search on the specific database using the Databases link on the top menu.

The following are some of the databases from ProQuest Central you might consult:

Health & Medical Collection

Nursing & Allied Health Database

Public Health Database

PEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 23 years. It is a free database of over 59,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

For further help searching PEDro database see the Search help section on the PEDro website.

PEDro database

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text includes rigorous curation of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 148 global OA journals.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text includes 212 active, full-text, non-open access journals not available in any version of Academic Search. SPORTDiscus with Full Text includes 179 journals with searchable cited eferences.
Subjects covered include: Athletic training; coaching and education; Consumer health; Exercise science and fitness; Health education; Kinesiology; Nutrition; Occupational health and safety; Orthopedics; Physical education; Physical therapy; Sociology of sports; Sport psychology; Sports injuries and rehabilitation; Sports management; Sports sciences.

Using database subject headings (CINAHL & MESH)

The videos below demonstrate how to use database subject heading lists to identify search terms and build a search strategy.

Library Guides

Bachelor Of Science (Osteopathy): Databases and journals