Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- AHE2250 Sport Coaching Principles
- Books & E-books
Practical Sports Coaching
by
Foundations of Sports Coaching
by
An Introduction to Sports Coaching
by
An Introduction to Sports Coaching provides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of knowledges which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well asseminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course."
Positive Pedagogy for Sport Coaching
by
Positive Pedagogy is an athlete-centred, inquiry-based approach that transforms the way we understand learning and coaching in sport. This book demonstrates how Positive Pedagogy for sport coaching (PPed) can be successfully employed across a range of sports and levels of performance, while also providing insight into coaches' experiences. Now in a fully revised and updated second edition, the book introduces the key concepts that underpin Positive Pedagogy and offers detailed case studies of Positive Pedagogy in action, with reflections from practising coaches. It also provides more detail and direction for coaches interested in implementing the approach. This new edition moves beyond coaching in individual sports to explain how Positive Pedagogy can be applied to all sport coaching across a wide range of sports, including basketball, baseball, football, rugby, boxing, swimming, track and field athletics, as well as strength and conditioning.　 Positive Pedagogy for sport coaching both improves performance and promotes positive learning experiences across all ages and abilities. This book is invaluable reading for all sports coaching students as well as any practising coaches or physical education teachers looking to improve or even transform their professional practice.
Sport Coaching Concepts
by
Coaching is a vital factor for success in sport at all levels. Sport Coaching Concepts offers a comprehensive introduction to the theoretical issues that underpin sport coaching practice. Now in a fully revised and updated new edition, it explains why a conceptual approach to sport coaching is more important than ever before, using practice-orientated analysis to help students develop a full understanding of coaching theory and technique. Drawing on more than a decade's worth of research, the book reflects upon the profound changes that have transformed coach education and development. It covers all the key topics of the sport coaching curriculum and includes six new chapters on the evolution of coaching theory, coaching expertise, decision making, social perspectives on the coach-athlete relationship, social inclusion and principles of coach development. Each chapter contains a full range of pedagogical features to aid learning, including discussion questions, practical projects, guides to further reading, case studies and insights from practising coaches. Sport Coaching Concepts is essential reading for all students of sport coaching and any serious coaches looking to develop their own coaching practice.
Team Chemistry
by
"A must-read!" -- Derek Johnson, Director of Pitching, Cincinnati Reds, MLB What is different about teams that are consistent winners, those teams that always seem to bring their A-game when the stakes are highest? A positive team culture is likely the answer. We've all seen it happen: the team that looks great on paper, or has a league-leading regular season, but can't pull out the wins or give their top performance when everything is on the line. As coaches and sport leaders what can we do to ensure that we maximize the potential of our athletes and teams so they are successful and continue to enjoy sport? How do we ensure that we coach in a way that benefits the team and remains respectful of the individual? In their first book together, André Lachance and Jean François Ménard offer tangible and practical strategies to help sport leaders create efficient group dynamics, build team culture, and help a group of athletes to gel. Using the periodic table of elements to organize concepts into a modular framework, the authors have created a powerful new resource for coaches in every sport. Building successful teams is not as simple as picking the best players: there are specific methods that coaches and leaders use to make their messages stick and to bring out the best in everyone within a group. Consistently, the healthiest team cultures have a huge impact on performance. That is the power of Team Chemistry.
'Race', Ethnicity and Racism in Sports Coaching
by
In recent years there has been a steady increase in the racial and ethnic diversity of the playing workforce in many sports around the world. However, there has been a minimal throughput of racial and ethnic minorities into coaching and leadership positions. This book brings together leading researchers from around the world to examine key questions around 'race', ethnicity and racism in sports coaching. The book focuses specifically on the ways in which 'race', ethnicity and racism operate, and how they are experienced and addressed (or not) within the socio-cultural sphere of sports coaching. Theoretically informed and empirically grounded, it examines macro- (societal), meso- (organisational), and micro- (individual) level barriers to racial and ethnic diversity as well as the positive action initiatives designed to help overcome them. Featuring multi-disciplinary perspectives, the book is arranged into three thematic sections, addressing the central topics of representation and racialised barriers in sports coaching; racialised identities, diversity and intersectionality in sports coaching; and formalised racial equality interventions in sports coaching. Including case studies from across North America, Europe and Australasia, 'Race', Ethnicity and Racism in Sports Coaching is essential reading for students, academics and practitioners with a critical interest in the sociology of sport, sport coaching, sport management, sport development, and 'race' and ethnicity studies. Chapter 1 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.
Aboriginal sports coaches, community, and culture
by
Summary: This book is the first to celebrate the stories of this group of Aboriginal mentors and leaders and present them in a form that is accessible to both academic and general audiences. In this book, Aboriginal sport coaches from all over Australia share stories about their involvement in sport and community, offering insight into the diverse experiences of Aboriginal people in settler colonial Australia. This collection amplifies the public voice of Aboriginal coaches who are transforming the social, cultural, and political lives of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people. These stories have been overlooked in public discussion about sport and indigeneity. Frank and often funny, these intimate narratives provide insight into the unique experiences and attitudes of this group of coaches. This book deepens our understanding of the shared and contested history of Aboriginal peoples engagement with sport in Australia.
|
|
|
We acknowledge the Ancestors, Elders and families of the Kulin Nation (Melbourne campuses), the Eora Nation (Sydney campus) and the Yulara/Yugarapul and Turrbal Nation (Brisbane campus) who are the traditional owners of University land. As we share our own knowledge practices within the University, may we pay respect to the deep knowledge embedded within the Aboriginal community and recognise their ownership of Country. |
