AHE2250 Sport Coaching Principles: Databases & Journals

Database access to peer-reviewed journal articles

Rather than searching ALL the library resources you can choose to search in ONE of the databases. Remember to limit your search results to peer-reviewed (or refereed) articles.

Databases versus journals

What are articles?

  • An author writes an article on a particular topic and sends it to a journal publisher.
  • Articles on similar topics are published together in journals, which can also be known as periodicals.
  • The journal publisher assesses the article. It may be reviewed by other writers in the field. This would then be a peer reviewed article.

How do we access the articles?

  • The library subscribes to print copies of journals and puts them onto the library shelves.
  • The library subscribes to online databases which are collections of journals packaged together by topic. These databases can be searched using keywords, author names and subjects.
  • A search in the ‘Library Search’ accesses many journal articles in the databases.

What is a scholarly or academic journal & how to check for peer reviewed articles

When an article is published in a peer-reviewed or refereed journal, it indicates that that article has been through a formal review process. It has been read by experts in the subject field before being accepted for publication. This ensures the information in the article is well-researched, and contributes to the knowledge of the subject area.

Scholarly or Academic Journal and Databases from Victoria University Library on Vimeo.

When an article is published in a peer-reviewed or refereed journal, it indicates that that article has been through a formal review process. It has been read by experts in the subject field before being accepted for publication. This ensures the information in the article is well-researched, and contributes to the knowledge of the subject area.

Newspapers

Current (and sometimes local) information but not peer reviewed

  • ANZ NEWSSTREAM - ANZ Newsstream contains the articles from Australian and New Zealand national and regional newspapers. The coverage begins in 1996.
  • Kanopy - access to a broad range of educational streamed video titles.
  • The Conversation - The Conversation contains news and views from academic and research communities