Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- Bachelor of Sport Management
- Databases & journals
Relevant journals and databases available for Sport Management course.
Rather than searching ALL the library resources you can choose to search in ONE of the databases. Remember to limit your search results to peer-reviewed (or refereed) articles.
Relevant journals for this course
Current (and sometimes local) information but not peer-reviewed
In this presentation you will see how to find a journal article on library’s search.
You can search for journal articles on the library’s homepage by typing in the article title, the author or simply by entering keywords.Type in your key words. Choose ‘journal articles’ button and search.You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles, full text, as well as choose articles published in the last few years and add more keywords.To access journal article, click on “PDF full text” link or “check for full text” link.
This checks all the library databases. If the article is not available, there is an option to request the article. For further information, please contact us through ‘Ask a Librarian’ service or talk to a rover or library staff member if on campus.
(Video ends)
We all know the library is the perfect place for finding books - But it’s also a great resource for periodicals. So, what is a periodical anyway? Well, a periodical is any publication released on a regular schedule. Like magazines and newspapers. But those two aren’t all. Scholarly journals are a special type of periodical meant for academic research.
Normal periodicals are published by corporations, with general information meant for academic research. Normal periodicals are published by corporations, with general information meant for a wide audience. While scholarly journals are published by academic institutions, they’re subject-specific, with articles focusing on narrow, precise topics. They’re edited and approved by a board of specialists – with references for each article.
But more importantly, scholarly journals have all gone through a process known as peer review. That means research has been submitted through a double blind process, with academics on both ends operation anonymously. And before publication, every article is put through a rigorous approval system. All that matters is the research, and every step is taken to guarantee its quality. That way, when it reaches you, it’s filled with information you can trust. So, when doing your research, make the right choice with a source you can count on.
(Video ends)
How to find a journal article on a library database (SportDiscus). In this presentation you will see how to find a journal article on a library database.
To access databases, click on “Databases A-Z”. You can search the databases by name or browse alphabetically or by subject. Click on letter “S” to select SportDiscus database. Connect to the database by clicking on “SPORTDiscus with fulltext”. Enter your search terms. Select options available from the drop down menu.
You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles and full text as well as choose articles published in the last few years. Link to the full text of the article. For further information, please contact us through ‘Ask a Librarian’ service or talk to a rover or library staff member if on campus.
(Video ends)