On this page:

• Government Archives
• Business, Labour and Corporate Archives
• Community Archives
• University & Academic Archives
• Media Arhcives

Government Archives

Each State and Territory in Australia holds an Archive of its records and archives.

• National Archives of Australia
• Public Record Office Victoria (PROV)
• Library & Archives NT
• Libraries Tasmania
• Queensland State Records
• State Archives and Records NSW
• State Records of South Australia
• State Records Office of Western Australia

Business, Labour and Corporate Archives

Frequently, large companies and corporate bodies hold archives of their history. In many cases these have been deposited with a University archive or, in some cases, a State library or Archive. Many business and company archival collections are held at the Noel Butlin Archives Centre (NBAC) at the Australian National University (ANU). The Noel Butlin Archives collects business and labour records from Australian companies, trade unions, industry bodies and professional organisations.

In addition to the NBAC, the ANU Archives holds the University's own archives, the Pacific Research Archives, and the National AIDS Archive Collection as well as archives and records of the University itself.

• Business and Commerce collections at University of Melbourne
• Noel Butlin Archives Centre  
• Pacific Research Archives     

Community Archives

• Australian Queer Archives
• National AIDS Archive Collection 
• TROVE -  Trove's 'Digitised Newspapers' includes early archives of many Australian newspapers, including Sydney Morning Herald, Daily Telegraph and Illawarra Mercury/Illawarra Daily Mercury 1856-1954. The vast majority of newspapers are from pre-1955 but coverage does include several more recent titles such as Canberra Times. Watch TROVE - Advanced Search video for tips on how to search.
• Victorian Collections - Directory of Community Archives

University & Academic Archives

• Australian National University (ANU) Archives
• Archives at Wellcome Collection
• Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies 
• Deakin University Archives and Special Collections
• Jumbunna Institute for Indigenous Education and Research, University of Technology Sydney
• La Trobe University Archives
• Newcastle University Archives
• University of Melbourne Archives
• University of Queensland Archives
• University of Sydney Archives

Media Archives

• ABC Archives
• ACMI (formerly Australian Centre of Moving Image)
• American Archive of Public Broadcasting 
• National Film and Sound Archives (NFSA)