On this page:

• Victoria University Archives
• Aboriginal History Archive (AHA)
• Victoria University Special Collections

Aboriginal History Archive (AHA)

The Aboriginal History Archive (AHA) comprises thousands of rare photos, videos, campaign ephemera, press clippings, and manuscripts that document the country’s Black Power and self-determination movements, and other key events.  Much of the content was gathered over more than 50 years by Professor Gary Foley who was a key figure in the self-determination movement that emerged in the early 1970s, including helping to establish the 1972 Aboriginal Embassy. Other significant collections have been donated by individuals and community organisations.

• Visit the Aboriginal History Archive (AHA)

Victoria University Library Special Collections

The VU Special Collections hold strong threads of radical literature, particularly Australian Communist literature, much of which is rare or unique. The roles and voices of women, and issues in urban planning are also featured in the Collections. The Collections provide insights about the people who donated them such Ray Verrills, John McLaren, Sir Zelman Cowen, Ruth & Maurie Crow, and others, as well as the subjects and organisations they document. Other Collections focus on Australia's - and VU's - relationship to some of its near neighbours such as Papua New Guinea and Timor-Leste. Several of the Collections contain archival material which is described on the guide.

• Visit the archival material within Victoria University Special Collections