Source: Victoria University Archives, Victoria University Special Collections
Items held by Archives are described and arranged according to the principles of ‘provenance’ and ‘original order’.
Provenance is the relationship between the records and the person/department/activity which created it. For example, the provenance of the oral history recordings held in the VU Archives is that office which commissioned the history of Victoria University to be written.
It is crucial that archival records are retained in the order that they were created, accumulated, and maintained by their creator. In this way, the context in which records were created, and their authenticity, is preserved. This principle also provides valuable insight into the organisations, people, motivations, purposes and circumstances in which records were created.
What is held by Archives preserves evidence of decision-making, achievements, intentions, development, loss, change … they are a link to the past and inform the present and future.
"Archives hold much of our personal, corporate and social memory. While they were originally created for a particular business purpose, they are retained and kept for a wide variety of purposes today. They tell our stories, document our identity and have ongoing use for scientific and technical enquiry" (Bettington et. al., 2008, p.12)
Bettington, J., Eberhard, K., Loo R. (Eds.). (2008). Keeping archives. Australian Society of Archivists Inc.
On this page;
In Archives we find evidence, explanation, justification, reason not just for our past actions but for current and future decisions. They are unique and irreplaceable. Archives provide us with:
Archives reflect our attitudes at the time and must be viewed in the context of who created them and why. It is critical that care is taken to properly identify and provide access to archives so their roles can be fully realized to the benefit of our society (Adapted from the International Council of Archives 2016).
There are some similarities between collections in 'libraries' and in 'archives'; however, there are key differences in the way holdings or collections are acquired, organized, described, made accessible and used.
Archives consist mainly of primary source information, such as firsthand accounts from people or evidence that relates to a past event or time period. In contrast libraries contain mostly secondary sources of information such as journal articles and books which have been formally published.
Items in Archives are organised according to the person, organisation, circumstances in which they were created ie. provenance. Western libraries organise information using the Dewey Decimal system according to what subject it is about.
The following three minute video succinctly explains the key differences between libraries and archives:
| Libraries | Archives | |
|---|---|---|
| Primary or Secondary sources? | Mainly secondary. Most of the material in libraries is published. |
Mainly primary. Most archival documents were written or typed by the creator, rather than printed by a publisher, which is why they are often referred to as manuscripts. Published material is only kept if it was used or collected by the person or institution in the course of their work. |
| Is it possible to browse the holdings? | Yes. Library materials are usually on open access. You can search the catalogue or simply browse the relevant shelves. |
No. Archives are stored securely in a separate room, called a strong room, so you have to request them. To identify the items you’d like to see, you have to browse the catalogue. |
| Arrangement | Subject, author, title... | Provenance and original order |
| Catalogues | Individual items. Items can be found by using keyword searches etc. A book has meaning and usefulness independently of other books. |
Hierarchical description. Archival items are listed in finding aids that reflect and retain the way the documents were created. Documents require contextual information which can often be found in the structure of the catalogue. Keyword searches are often very helpful but it is important to consider how every item relates to the rest of the collection. |
| Is it possible to borrow items? | Yes, in most cases. Most libraries will have one or two sections which are ‘reference only’ but most of their holdings will be available for members to borrow. | No. Normally, you can see original archival documents only in a designated room, called a searchroom or reading room, once you have registered as a reader. |
| Are there any restrictions to access? | Not usually. Libraries exist to provide access to information. |
Sometimes. A document may be ‘restricted/closed’ if it is fragile or for certain legal reasons, such as Data Protection. They are kept because of their evidential value and because they will probably eventually be put on open/unrestricted access. |
| Where do the items come from? | Most of the books in libraries will have been bought or donated. Researchers generally only want information about how a book was acquired if it is very rare. | Documents are often transferred from another department of the same institution. They can be donated (given permanently) or deposited (given on a long-term loan) by individuals or outside institutions. They are occasionally bought at auction or from a bookseller but this is rare. The provenance (history of ownership) of documents is very important. |
|
|
|
We acknowledge the Ancestors, Elders and families of the Kulin Nation (Melbourne campuses), the Eora Nation (Sydney campus) and the Yulara/Yugarapul and Turrbal Nation (Brisbane campus) who are the traditional owners of University land. As we share our own knowledge practices within the University, may we pay respect to the deep knowledge embedded within the Aboriginal community and recognise their ownership of Country. |
This content is licensed to Victoria University under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
