Bachelor of Laws: Overview

A comprehensive guide to legal research created by the VU Law Library

About this Guide

This guide provides a starting point for conducting legal research using the VU Library. It contains guidance on locating primary and secondary sources and links to resources for all subjects taught by the Victoria Law School.

ß Use the side menu to explore the contents of this guide.

Legal Research Classes. Semester 2, Block 4,  2024.

The Law Library offer a range of legal research and referencing classes each block.  All classes are delivered online via Zoom.  Please click on the tabs below for details of each class.

Finding Case Law

An introduction to locating primary legal sources. Students will learn how to use a case citator to locate case law and information about case law.

10am Mon 11 November (60 minutes) - Online

Bookings may be made via the Learning Hub - link below.
https://learninghub.vu.edu.au/students/events?descending=false&page=1&sortBy=Start&studentSiteId=1&text=1898

 

Finding Legislation - Law and Criminology

Students will  learn how to locate up-to-date legislation and associated extrinsic materials.
1pm Wed 13 November (60 minutes) - Online

Bookings may be made via the Learning Hub - link below.
https://learninghub.vu.edu.au/students/events?descending=false&page=1&sortBy=Start&studentSiteId=1&text=1896

Finding Secondary Sources for Law

The focus of the class is on analysing a question, using a legal dictionary and building a search statement to locate legal journal articles.  The class includes an overview of how to reference journal articles using AGLC.

1pm Thu 7 November (60 minutes) - Online
3pm Fri 15 November (60 minutes)​​​​​​ - Online

​​​​​​​​​​​​Bookings may be made via the Learning Hub - link below.

https://learninghub.vu.edu.au/students/events?descending=false&page=1&sortBy=Start&studentSiteId=1&text=1251

Library Inquiry - Law

This class takes students through the process of locating discussion of a legal principle in a textbook, locating case law that is referred to in the textbook and citing those cases correctly.

​​​​​10am Wed 6 November (60 minutes) - Online
12noon Tue 12 November (60 minutes) - Online

Bookings may be made via the Learning Hub - link below.
https://learninghub.vu.edu.au/students/events?descending=false&page=1&sortBy=Start&studentSiteId=1&text=1431

AGLC4 - Referencing

This interactive class is suitable for beginners, or those wishing to improve their AGLC4 skills.

12noon Mon 4 November (60 Minutes) - Online
12noon Fri 8 November (60 minutes) - Online
1pm Thu 14 November (60 minutes) - Online

Bookings may be made via the Learning Hub - link below.
https://learninghub.vu.edu.au/students/events?descending=false&page=1&sortBy=Start&studentSiteId=1&text=1091

APA- Referencing

This interactive class is suitable for beginners, or those wishing to improve their APA skills.

10am Thu 31 October (60 minutes) online

2pm Fri 8 November (60 minutes) online

Bookings may be made via the Learning Hub - link below.
https://learninghub.vu.edu.au/students/events?descending=false&page=1&sortBy=Start&studentSiteId=1&text=1927

 A variety of referencing styles are used at VU.  If you are unsure which style to use, ask your lecturer/tutor which style they require.  And, always refer to the instructions included with your assignment.

Criminology - Library Class

This class introduces criminology students to a step-by-step approach to quickly and efficiently locate journal articles for use in criminology assignments.

10am Wed 13 November (60 minutes) - Online

Bookings may be made via the Learning Hub - link below.
https://learninghub.vu.edu.au/students/events?descending=false&page=1&sortBy=Start&studentSiteId=1&text=1897

Database Quick Find

CaseBase

  • Easy to use case citator. It lists alternative citations in AGLC4 order or preference. Will usually have links to state cases in full-text. 
  • Learn more about using CaseBase. 

Westlaw Australia

  • Replaces FirstPoint
  • Will usually have links to federal cases, including those reported in the CLR, in full-text. 
  • Learn more about using Westlaw Australia to research case law. 

Austlii

  • Best database for locating VCAT decisions, and other tribunal decisions. 

 

England and Wales / UK

  • ICLR
    • The authorised Law Reports for England and Wales from 1865. 
    • Learn more about using ICLR. 
  • Westlaw UK
    • Unauthorised reports, digests (summaries) of cases, and pre-1865 UK case law. 
    • Learn more about using Westlaw UK.

Canada, USA, and some other jurisdictions

New Zealand

  • CaseBase
    • CaseBase has good coverage of New Zealand case law, including the New Zealand Law Reports (NZLR) in full text. 
      • To access NZ case law, click 'Select a Different Content Type', then choose 'International Cases', or use this link

TimeBase LawOne 

  • Covers all Australian jurisdictions. Includes links to extrinsic materials. 
  • Learn more about using TimeBase. 

Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents (Lexis+)

  • Extensive collection of precedents. Use the index or search by keyword. 

Forms & Precedents Finder (Westlaw Australia)

  • Wide range of precedents. Search by keyword or browse by subject area or publication. 

Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis+) 

Laws of Australia (Westlaw Australia)

  • Browse the table of contents (recommended) or search. For a narrower search, click the 'Advanced' link and then search within the 'Legal Principle' field (note: A Boolean logic search is required). 
  • Learn more about using the Laws of Australia. 

AGIS Plus Text 

  • Mostly Australian journal articles.
  • Many articles include the full text PDF.
  • If the full text is not available click the 'check for full text' option to access.
  • Can refine to just peer reviewed articles.
  • Learn more about using AGIC Plus Text.

Hein Online 

  • A large collection of law journals from all around the world, including over 100 from Australia. 
  • Most articles include the full text PDF.
  • Includes AGLC4 citation.
  • Learn more about using Hein Online. 

Ulrichsweb

  • Search for the title of the journal (academic magazine) to check if it's a peer reviewed (refereed) journal. 

Acknowledgement of Country

Australian Aboriginal Flag

                   

Acknowledgement of Country

We acknowledge the Ancestors, Elders and families of the Kulin Nation (Melbourne campuses), the Eora Nation (Sydney campus) and the Yulara/Yugarapul and Turrbal Nation (Brisbane campus) who are the traditional owners of University land. As we share our own knowledge practices within the University, may we pay respect to the deep knowledge embedded within the Aboriginal community and recognise their ownership of Country.

We acknowledge that the land on which we meet, learn, and share knowledge is a place of age-old ceremonies of celebration, initiation and renewal, and that the Traditional Owners living culture and practices have a unique role in the life of this region. Learn more from our Moondani Balluk Indigenous Academic Unit.

Licence

     This content is licensed to Victoria University under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.