Economic and Financial Data: Financial Development and Statistics

Introduction

The well know database related to indicators for financial development and structure is Financial Development and Structure Dataset, originally developed by Beck, Demirguc-Kunt and Ross Levine. However, this page also provides other databases related to the the size, activity, and efficiency of financial intermediaries and markets around the world.

Databases

Eikon with Datastream  

For training videos go to the Refinitiv site

https://training.refinitiv.com/eikon/

https://training.refinitiv.com/datastream/

Other VU Library databases that may also provide you with financial information. For example:

Orbis (Bureau van Dijk) will provide you with detailed time series company information.

Business Source Complete will provide you with company information, company profiles, industry reports, financial data, country reports, market research reports, investment research reports and SWOT analysis.

Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Web-based Resources

Financial Development and Structure Dataset

This dataset, developed by Thorsten Beck, Asli Demirguc-Kunt , Ross Eric Levine, Martin Cihak  and Erik H.B. Feyen,  is widely used in academic papers discussing the finance-growth nexus. Here one can download a dataset consisting various financial development and structure indicators across country. the indicators are designed to measure the size, activity, and efficiency of financial intermediaries and markets.

The latest version (Nov 2013) of this dataset can be downloaded into a MS Excel format here.

The dataset consists of following indicators:

  • Deposit money bank assets
  • Liquid liabilities
  • Central bank assets
  • Other financial institution assets
  • Private credits  by deposit money banks and other financial instiutions 
  • Bank deposits
  • Financial system deposits 
  • Bank credit
  • Bank overhead cost
  • Net interest margin 
  • Bank concentration
  • Bank ROA, ROE, cost and Z-score
  • Life insurance and non-life insurance premium volume 
  • Stock market capitalization
  • Stock market total value traded 
  • Stock market turnover ratio 
  • No. of listed companies 
  • Public bond market capitalization 
  • Private bond market capitalization 
  • International debts issues 
  • Loans from non-resident banks 
  • Remittance inflows 

World Federation of Exchange Statistics

The World Federation of Exchange (WFE) is an international association of publicly regulated stock, futures, and options exchanges. The currently there are 62 exchanges joining this asociation. 

WFE provides following indicators:

  • Domestic market capitalization
  • Market capitalization of newly listed domestic shares and delistings
  • Number of listed companies
  • Number of newly listed and delisting companies
  • Value of share trading
  • Number of trading days, average daily turnover, and average value of trades
  • Turnover velocity
  • Market concetration
  • Investment flows - new capital raised by shares
  • Securitied derivatives
  • ETFs
  • Value of bond trading
  • Value of bond listed
  • Number of trade in bonds
  • Number of bond issuers
  • Investment flows - money raised by bonds
  • Derivatives
  • Broad stock market indices
  • Blue chips indices
  • Price earning ratio
  • Investment funds
  • Interest rates
  • Stock markets' significance in the national economy
  • Number of trading participants
  • Dividends